1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Runtime Error, tried lots

Discussion in 'Hardware, Software & Troubleshooting' started by Karne, Feb 10, 2006.

  1. Karne

    Karne And god said, OMFG PWNED

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hokay, so:

    In UT2K4 I have this mildly retarded error:
    _________________________________________________________________
    Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library (X)
    _________________________________________________________________
    Runtime error!
    Program D:\Games\Unreal Tournament 2004\System\UT2004.exe

    This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
    Please contact the application's support team for more information.
    _________________________________________________________________

    (Yeah I did just draw the window in text)

    Ive tried everything shown in all other topics relating to this error but all of the ones I read the "victim" just reinstalled UT2K4. I REALLY do not want to do that. I've looked in the registry and found that all the stuff relating to UT2K4 is fine, including the stuff in HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT. Ive backed up and deleted my UT2004.ini and User.ini's and started UT2K4 to only have it create the default ones, but still come up with the error. This error comes up before UT2K4 really opens, it happens after displaying the splash screen for a few seconds. I've tried the UT2K4 safe mode too. But one thing thats really odd, is I cannot unistall UT2K4 anymore. It pops up with a bunch of gibberish text like AJHLAS*F(S&$W(*YSDFSF with an okay button. Click okay and it just closes. Nothing happens. UT2K4 is still on my add or remove programs list.

    One thing that will really help you guys help me is the fact that I defragmented both my C and D drives (at seperate times). And at the end of each one, they froze. And ever since then alot of things are really ****ed up. I needed to reinstall my sound driver, needed to re register the DLL's for Windows Media Player, etc...

    My system specs:

    Asus P5N32-SLI Deluxe <- Latest Bios and Chipset drivers
    Intel Pentium 4 530J 3.0GHz <- Overclocked to 3.6Ghz
    EVGA e-Geforce 7800GT CO <- Overclocked to 480/1225Mhz
    C drive is an OLD 20gig <- Just has Windows on it
    D drive is pretty new 80gig <- Were UT2K4 is located

    I have Windows XP SP2 with all latest updates
    No viruses (scanned a few days ago with Norton Internet Security 2006)
    UT2K4 has alot of mutators and mods downloaded, but none currently active.
    UT2K4 is running the 3369 win32 patch and ECE, was all working fine.

    I personally think a reformat is gonna need to be necassary cause its not just UT2K4, but I've been able to fix all the other problems so far, but I wanna wait till Vista until my next reformat... I have to do them to often.:(

    EDIT: Ive also reinstalled 3369 patch and it didnt fix anything.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2006
  2. Angel_Mapper

    Angel_Mapper Goooooooats

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2001
    Messages:
    3,532
    Likes Received:
    3
    Anything in UT2004.log?
     
  3. Karne

    Karne And god said, OMFG PWNED

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Completely empty, btw Ive used alot of tuts for Unreal Ed on your site:)
     
  4. Angel_Mapper

    Angel_Mapper Goooooooats

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2001
    Messages:
    3,532
    Likes Received:
    3
    From reading your post it sounds like you have bigger problems than just UT2004 not working to worry about.

    And you might need to reinstall. No biggie though, it won't delete custom content, and doesn't take that long.
     
  5. Karne

    Karne And god said, OMFG PWNED

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    It doesnt delete custom content? Yaay, (I have around 3gigs worth)! No biggie then, I'll just reinstall, thanks for the quick replys
     
  6. Tenkken

    Tenkken Prizemoney

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    no, no need to reinstall. Do a virus scan. I can guarantee you have virii on your comp. Then, reinstall the latest patch.
     
  7. Crowze

    Crowze Bird Brain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    1
    How about trying it without overclocking?
     
  8. Karne

    Karne And god said, OMFG PWNED

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its worked for months with overclocking, but I'm gonna try that now, cause somethings mega ****ed. I just completely wiped it(custom content+reg keys+ut2k4). And reinstalled, without ECE (currently dl'ing mega pack, heard ECE can get messed with two installations) and started it up, the errors stilll THERE. And btw if anyone wants to know, to get into the uninstaller I had to copy a few DLL's (core.dll, engine.dll, ifcs32.dll) from the ut2k4/system directory and put them into my windows/system 32 folder. Im getting scared a reformats immenent (excuse spelling), but Im gonna try no overclocking AND after mega pack installs (it does latest patch and all).
     
  9. Karne

    Karne And god said, OMFG PWNED

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    WOOOOW
    IM SUPER CRAZY PORBLEM SOVVLER!!!11!7

    K so, I go into Unreal Ed, open up a random map, test play, close the map, K so Im in UT2K4 W00T! close UT2K4, now the normal UT2K4 shortcut works!

    Im just pissed off that I had to reinstall, but atleast UT2K4 is working! Thanks for all the suggestions though.
     
  10. exorcism91

    exorcism91 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have this problem too...can some1 tell me the things i have to do...
    i dont understand the things above here :( :eek:
    like whats overclocking?
     
  11. Crowze

    Crowze Bird Brain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    1
    Have you tried the unrealed fix above?

    If you don't know about overclocking, it most likely isn't an issue :).
     
  12. exorcism91

    exorcism91 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i said i didnt understand that but im now scanning on virusses and then im gonna reinstall the patch....is that the way?
     
  13. Crowze

    Crowze Bird Brain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK...
    Start > Programs > Unreal Tournament 2004 > UT2004 Editor.
    File > Open > Pick any map.
    Build > Play level.
    Exit UT2004, and try running it normally.
     
  14. exorcism91

    exorcism91 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm that isnt working too...i get the same error
     
  15. khalum777

    khalum777 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks alot :D it really helped but i still have a problem with nvidia logo
     
  16. khalum777

    khalum777 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    can someone help me? i deleted nvidia logo file and then restored it because i needed it and now i cant play
     
  17. dizzm

    dizzm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you try changing in ut2004.ini to LocalMap=NoIntro.ut2 ?
     
  18. khalum777

    khalum777 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    THANK YOU!!!!!

    Nice!!! thanks!!! :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)
     
  19. Critical_Error

    Critical_Error New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok sorry for writing in an old thread, but for my case it was the first google spitted out.

    i had the same (runtime-)problem, tried w/e without help, till i read the UTED-post,
    guess what happend :)


    Critical Error
    blablub....
    .
    .
    Video: No Video
    Ran out of virtual memory. To prevent this condition, you must free up more space on your primary hard disk.


    i totally forgot i deactivated virtual memory for testing. shame ut doesnt bring me a "out of memory-message" instead a bs "runtime error"

    looks like teh "just-start-UTED-idea" can solve more than one problem :)

    ty

    C_E
    maybe this help some others too :)
     
  20. LQHR

    LQHR New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    simple solution - Windows 7 users

    hi peeps ...

    buddy and I, installed the 2004 version but we also got "runtime error" thingy, and so we googled and googled, but non of your answers worked until we thought "DOH!" this is an old game, just change compability functions, and start as an admin ... problem solved .. :D
     

Share This Page