reflection on scope system

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.
Apr 2, 2001
Frankfurt/ Germany
Visit site
The lack of interest to use Scopes/ACOGs myself and the complaints of many players made me think about it for quite a while... here is what I figured...

The current system does (IMO) involve less skills than other aspects of INF:

A skilled player will need as much time as a complete noob (with 30 min. practice) to put a full mag of well placed shots at a distance target (i.e. with PSG at 400m on shooting range) and won't be a lot closer to bullseye. Of course shooting moving targets etc. requires more skills but all in all I think the current system is not very rewarding to most players and probably not that perfect in terms of realism either.

I'd really prefer a system that
1.) doesn't give 100% accuracy with 'hold breath' and
2.) doesn't make it damn hard to hit anything without 'hold breath' preparation (even at close range)

I could imagine the current, completely regular moving pattern of the crosshair toned down a lot and superimposed by a (faster moving) random pattern (Muscle tremor ala RAv3) would work well.

The magnitude should be affected by stamina, stance, weapon and 'hold breath'. (maybe random and regular movement independently)

And the bullet should always go to the very center of the crosshair (no or much reduced canting effect for the scope but of course use balistics)