1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

UE3 - UDK Put it online?

Discussion in 'Programming' started by emckai, Aug 15, 2010.

  1. emckai

    emckai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I"m just wondering how I can put the map I created online.

    I know some games out there, such as AVA (Alliance of Valiant Arms) use UE3 and put their maps online.

    Is there any way I can do that?
    I would like to play a map with my friends without downloading the whole UE3.
     
  2. brold9999

    brold9999 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not certain which you are trying to do.

    You ask about putting a map online - ie so other people who already have a UE3 based game can download that map and play it. There are lots of sites where you can do this.

    But you also mention, playing the map without downloading the entire engine, which implies you don't already have such a game. Are you talking about running a UE3 game in a browser?
     
  3. emckai

    emckai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, something like that, running the game in a browser.

    Because I don't want my friends to be downloading and installing UE3 just to play the map I have created.
     
  4. brold9999

    brold9999 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    The UDK doesn't provide the ability to run it in a browser. Even when you play [these types of] games in a browser, they still download and run on your local machine. They will have to have the game on their machine one way or another*.

    * Excluding roundabout methods such as running multiple instances on your machine and friends connecting via VNC or the like, which would prove me wrong but would not be practical.
     
  5. emckai

    emckai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Uhh, I think I didn't make myself clear D:

    Pretend I created a map with the UE3 Editor.
    After I compile it, and turn it into a real map.

    How can I play that map with my friends?

    Would they need to download the UE3 UDK and the map I have created?
     
  6. eblade

    eblade New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go to UnrealFrontend, Package Game.
     
  7. emckai

    emckai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will I be able to play online with them? o_o
     
  8. emckai

    emckai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got everything packaged and all that.

    But when I try and get onto the server by using ~ and open [ip address:7777]

    I get a Connection Lost:
    Package 'UnrealEd' version mismatch [package 00000000000000000000000000000, info 6a4f49324d1a62076e32738bcffed399]

    And on the cmd-like window

    netcomego: close tcpipconnection_0 [ip address]
     
  9. brold9999

    brold9999 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you playing the version you packaged or the pre-packaged version?

    Not sure if this makes a difference but it's the first thing I would check.
     
  10. emckai

    emckai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I try and connect to the server with the package that has everything, the editor, game, frontend. When I use the Game client from that, and type in open [ip address]

    It works just fine, it connects and all that. But when I use the packaged client from frontend.

    Frontend -> Package Game -> install -> using that client.
    I start up the game client, then when I type in open [ip address], it attempts to connect, but then it gives that error from my last post.
     
  11. brold9999

    brold9999 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you using the packaged *server*, or are you using the the unpackaged UDK as server?
     
  12. emckai

    emckai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using the UDK as server.
    It's the only one with the Unreal Frontend.
     
  13. emckai

    emckai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying out different UDK right now.

    The already tried out the latest one, the March UDK and right now i'm going to try out the December UDK 2009
     
  14. emckai

    emckai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah. Same thing happens with all the UDK I just tried out.
    There is obviously something wrong with the UnrealEd.u

    I tried replacing it with the one in my UDK, but it still doesn't work.
     
  15. brold9999

    brold9999 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    From the error message you are getting, it sounds most likely that you either have to all be running the UDK, or all be running the packaged game. I don't think you can have some people running UDK and some people running the packaged game.
     
  16. emckai

    emckai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh alright. okay thank you
     

Share This Page