1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Prefabs? How?

Discussion in 'Infiltration Development' started by itskeiagain, Jun 5, 2001.

  1. itskeiagain

    itskeiagain Adept

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,119
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I've seen several good looking prefabs. What I want to ask is, how do you save your prefab? I'm very much interested in making my own, so could someone help Beagle, pretty please!!
    :)
     
  2. bastard_o

    bastard_o Lead Designer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 1999
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    A brush prefab is as you know just a complex brush, ie a brush made from one or many brushes..

    Make your brushes, best to build in clear space or in your building box... (a BB is just a subtract away from your main level).

    Then after texturing all the polys, well if you want to that is... surround the whole structure (set of brushes) with a nice clean, scale reset red builder brush and hit the intersect button.

    Now you should be looking at all the polys you made but as one nice brush... then go to the brush main menu and export the brush as a t3d file.

    Hope that helps, sorry if it is unclear I just hammered the keyboard... late as usual... :)
     
  3. itskeiagain

    itskeiagain Adept

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, bastard_o!:)

    I'll give it a go.
     
  4. Nikoomba

    Nikoomba New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2001
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or you do what I do and make them in Max and import the meshes in DXF format into UEd.
     
  5. -Lost-

    -Lost- Local Bad-ass

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    0
    i prefer prefabs in their own level. i can't open saved brushes for some reason, i can only open exported brushes. i mean i can't open .t3d, but i can open .dxf or .asc
     
  6. Nikoomba

    Nikoomba New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2001
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you have to do something to import them.

    /me shrugs

    I just use 3DSMax, not the UEd end of things.
     
  7. jaymian

    jaymian Sweet Merciful Crap!

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    From my experriance of brushes, the saved brushes only seem to work on the map you saved them on. Export seems to work everywhere. Is it like this for everybody else?
    Jaymian
     
  8. bastard_o

    bastard_o Lead Designer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 1999
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Always works for me...

    I never use the load save brush only the import export brush..

    t3d is the file type you want to use...
     

Share This Page