1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Precaching after screenshots

Discussion in 'Original Unreal Tournament' started by wiggum_pi, Feb 14, 2000.

  1. wiggum_pi

    wiggum_pi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 1999
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everytime I take a screenshot in UT, it says precaching, and freezes for 20 seconds. I have a TNT2 -- any way to fix this?

    ------------------
    Who's gonna be the odd man out? I want to be the odd man out.
    -- CookieMnstr|PuF
     
  2. Mute

    Mute All you have to do is smile!

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 1999
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, I thought it said preaching after screen shots... that seemed a bit silly! /~unreal/ubb/html/smile.gif

    [This message has been edited by mute (edited 02-14-2000).]
     
  3. wiggum_pi

    wiggum_pi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 1999
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    0
    BTW, I have my cache size set to 32 MB on my 128 MB RAM setup.

    [​IMG]
    Who's gonna be the odd man out? I want to be the odd man out.
    -- CookieMnstr|PuF
     
  4. Lizard Of Oz

    Lizard Of Oz Demented Avenger

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1998
    Messages:
    10,589
    Likes Received:
    14
    Edit your "unrealtournament.ini."

    Go down to the [D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice] section and change...

    UsePrecache=True

    to...

    UsePrecache=False

    [​IMG]
    "There is no point in tip-toeing through life to get safely to death."
    "Whom ever sacrifices freedom for security get's nor deserves either."


    -Lizard Of Oz -aka- {PuF}Lizard- nguid = 391733
     
  5. CHRYSt

    CHRYSt You can't help that. We're all mad here.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,851
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got that last night. It only does it on my system if I have more than 50 bots. The precache is to reload where all the bots, models, weps and stuff have moved to during that 1/10th of a sec it took to take the shot.


    [​IMG]
    "Where's the BACTINE?! Some of this blood is MINE!!" -- JTHM
     
  6. wiggum_pi

    wiggum_pi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 1999
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Lizard -- I'll try it out.

    [​IMG]
    Who's gonna be the odd man out? I want to be the odd man out.
    -- CookieMnstr|PuF
     

Share This Page