1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Nvidia's latest driver has confined me to 640x480

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by FaT CaM, Aug 16, 2003.

  1. FaT CaM

    FaT CaM Not much...

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Freakin NVIDIA and their empty promises of imporved reliability and support etc.

    Just got latest drivers for my GF4 MX440 and I cant get out of a desktop res of 640x480, which means I have to be in that resolution or lower to be able to play games. I've tried many things such as changing the monitor type and changing color depth but the resolution slider wont budge. I'm using a Plug n Play monitor BTW. Any sugguestions?
     
  2. Lyndsay #2337

    Lyndsay #2337 Squeaky Penguin

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Uninstalling your card and monitor then installing them again might help. What brand is the card?
     
  3. BesigedB

    BesigedB Shocking Behaviour

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    0
    sucks for you*

    *works for me
     
  4. Fluid

    Fluid Zen fascists will control you

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2000
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are the latest drivers WHQL certified?
     
  5. Stryker8

    Stryker8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,565
    Likes Received:
    0
    remember in order to update your driver, you first gotta uninstall the current one, restart, install the standard vga windows drivers, restart and then install the new drivers.
     
  6. TomWithTheWeather

    TomWithTheWeather Die Paper Robots!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    They are WHQL certified. Works fine for me. You'll probably have to uninstall the old ones first.
     
  7. BesigedB

    BesigedB Shocking Behaviour

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have NEVER had to do that apart from when i install a new card
     
  8. TomWithTheWeather

    TomWithTheWeather Die Paper Robots!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've never had to uninstall nVidia drivers before either (except changing cards), but I have heard of people having problems and having to uninstall the old ones to get the new ones to work. Try using a Detonator cleaner such as Detonator R.I.P. after unistalling your drivers the normal way.

    Also see if you monitor cable is loose. Mostly likely not the problem, but I've had funny resolution problems because my monitor cable wasn't plugged in all the way.
     
  9. phillys

    phillys Continuing the Legacy....

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    2,794
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm...for me, i've never even uninstall my old drivers before :hmm:
     
  10. edhe

    edhe ..dadhe..

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you didn't do it right you could've been left with default drivers, do what tom says, but first look at your device manager (via the control panel > system stuff) and see what it tells you you have.

    hint: if it doesn't say geforce, but default instead, then try installing the drivers again anyway.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2003
  11. FaT CaM

    FaT CaM Not much...

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll try some of those. I should have mentioned that it only happens wiht drivers above 30.82

    I had the same problem wiht my TNT2
     
  12. DeaJae

    DeaJae taking a month's break

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    change monitor to default.
    sounds like the monitor bug from the previous range of detonators.
     
  13. FaT CaM

    FaT CaM Not much...

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got them from the NVIDIA site, so I guess they would be.
     
  14. RaptoR

    RaptoR been here far too long

    Joined:
    May 7, 2000
    Messages:
    3,524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried checking your monitor drivers?
     

Share This Page