1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

New Puter Specs....input....

Discussion in 'Original Unreal Tournament' started by Kokensu, Dec 18, 2000.

  1. Kokensu

    Kokensu Fire in Ma Belly!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went from:

    P3 450Mhz
    Abit Bx-6 rev. 2.0
    256 Mb Ram
    Voodoo3 3000 AGP
    17GB WD 7200 UDMA 66 Hard Drive
    Windows 98Se

    to:

    1000 Mhz ThunderBird
    Abit KT7-Raid 2.0
    256 Mb Ram
    Voodoo3 3000 AGP
    17GB WD 7200 UDMA 66 Hard Drive
    Windows 98Se

    I always run at 1024x768 16-bit(obviously) with all details set to max, dynamic lighting, 3d hardware sound, etc.

    On the old system I was pulling around 35-40 fps average on the intro demo.

    On the new rig I get around 70-75 fps average on the intro demo.

    I think I'm actually alot faster than that but the V3 is slowin me down. I'm gonna try the gefore DDr that have in my GF's computer and see if it makes a difference. I was using the V3 before cause it actually ran faster in UT(glide and all).
     
  2. Morety

    Morety The Farterator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2000
    Messages:
    12,267
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well sh!t, as if you didn't smack me around enough with the old one. :/

    Check this link out. http://forums.planetunreal.com/showthread.php?threadid=19316 You'll see the various units used and the various fps people get. Actually, I'd love to see you adding your input to it too.

    With my comp, I'm using the tnt2 ultra on d3d, and it's holding my fps back. I would think the v3 under glide would be cool. I certainly wouldn't get a voodoo5 at this point. All the games are moving to opengl, including Unreal2 when it comes out.

    I'm personally sticking with what I've got, and am going to buy the best opengl card available when U2 comes out.
     
  3. Kokensu

    Kokensu Fire in Ma Belly!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I certainly won't be getting any 3DFX stuff. Actually no one will be if what I just heard is true. NVidia is finally making their move and 3DFX may very well be no more. My next card will probably be a faster Geforce(Ultra or whatever's newer).

    I'm also going to format my PC soon(I'm really surprised that it's running fine without formatting), and when I do I'm going to format my backupt drive(I moved it all to the linux box) and setup the RAID-0 on my mobo. Then I might see even more of an increase. Maybe not in FPS but at least load time.
     
  4. Morety

    Morety The Farterator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2000
    Messages:
    12,267
    Likes Received:
    3
    I can't believe you set it all up without reformatting and stuff. I'm sure you'll see an increase (especially in boot time) once you've done this.

    I was drooling over the geforce2 Ultra last week, and came inches away from buying it. The thing is, nVidia's got their new chipset just around the corner, and the ultra is just there to fill in some time before it comes out. */me slaps himself alongside the head trying to remember the new chip's name*

    Hulla nice system you got. /me ph34r5 you even more now. :) I would recommend you switch to modem connection. ;p
     
  5. kamikaze9

    kamikaze9 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2000
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    0
    The NV20 is nVidia's next chip... I'm not sure it it's been given a name yet...
     
  6. Morety

    Morety The Farterator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2000
    Messages:
    12,267
    Likes Received:
    3
    ...how could I not remember such a catchy name? ;)
     
  7. Kokensu

    Kokensu Fire in Ma Belly!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I know I was lazy. I have to backup my "backup" drive so that I can format the both of em and try out the RAID-0. hehe. Or I could just play UT. ;)
     

Share This Page