1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Need some help with bot pathing

Discussion in 'Infiltration Development' started by OpFor, Jun 26, 2003.

  1. OpFor

    OpFor Feeling suicide, thats O.K.

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right now I'm currently trying to redo the bot pathing in EP2, and I need some help on bot pathing. I've started some basic stuff, but I was wondering is someone else with a little more skill could do some stuff for me. You *must* have dm-inf-macedonia and grozny installed as it uses sound and some textures from them (un officially for now, Im gunna try soon to get Old Geezers permission to use them). E-mail me at OpFor@mail.com if you have nothing better to do :) Please!
     
  2. Freon

    Freon Braaaaiinss...

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    4,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    uuh i don't think you need a formal autorization. many maps use his textures. anyway, that's already nice to ask ;)

    what's your prolem exactly, i don't really have the time to help you, but i could probably give you some tips
     
  3. Fat Marrow

    Fat Marrow Vegetable

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
    In my experience, bot-pathing just doesn't work :)

    That said, while playing around with Spooge's Reactor Sector 4, I saw he had used LiftCentres and LiftExits in certain tight spots, rather than path nodes. I thought that would be a nifty tip to pass on (assuming it works).
     
  4. das_ben

    das_ben Concerned.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    LiftExits and LiftCenters work great. I attached an example screenshot to show how to use them. Just make sure the LiftCenter tag is the same as the two LiftExit tags [in the properties]. You can find the actors in the actor browser under NavigationPoint. Best use for them are tight hallways/doors, but they're also useful for making the bots go over very steep brushes [ladders for instant].
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Freon

    Freon Braaaaiinss...

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    4,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow never thought of using that for a door. i've already done that for ladders/stairs ... and lifts though ;)
     
  6. w00p

    w00p Windows at its best

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    0
    heh, now atleast I know what properties should be the same. I used to just make all enterable fields have the same text with those actors. :)
    No kidding! :eek:
     
  7. OpFor

    OpFor Feeling suicide, thats O.K.

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool idea guys! Even though I've been mapping for about 2 years now Im still learning alot of stuff :) Well, I guess I'll try and upload ep2beta then, and let you guys take a looksy-poo.
     
  8. OpFor

    OpFor Feeling suicide, thats O.K.

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, wtf is up with attachments? bah, well e-mail for it, as I don't want anyone to host it yet.
     
  9. das_ben

    das_ben Concerned.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,880
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. fist_mlrs

    fist_mlrs that other guy

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    i might add that the lift center/lift exit thing can become a major performance killer if you use it often, try to use pathnodes whenever possible. in fmkasbah i needed to use lots of lift ceners/exits to get the bots moving at all as basicly every place is to narrow for the engine to connect the pathnodes. it ended up with an 30% performance loss so i had to remove the hole bot support (beside some random pathnodes so mutators will work)
     

Share This Page