1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Mountain problems!

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Homeslice, Mar 2, 2002.

  1. Homeslice

    Homeslice A mapper not in the zone

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to create mountainous terrains for my latest map, and I printed Machismo's Vertex Editing and Terrain Builder guide and tried building mountains, but my map would get huge BSP holes, so therefore I would have to try it again and again...not saving it of course. They also say TerraEdit gets big BSP holes....any other ideas guys? :rl:
     
  2. Rukee

    Rukee Coffee overclocks the overclocker!!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Messages:
    6,644
    Likes Received:
    13
    This belongs in the basic or advanced editing section were more people in the know would see it.
     
  3. Dukee

    Dukee Guest

  4. Chrysaor

    Chrysaor Lord of the Pants

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    3,020
    Likes Received:
    4
    You just need to be more careful. The terrain brush is the way to go.
     
  5. Homeslice

    Homeslice A mapper not in the zone

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    But I am using the terrain brush....!

    What else could I do - I want good mountains and I want this map to get a good review when publicly submitted! :redeemer:
     
  6. StoneViper

    StoneViper you can call me Mike

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    0
    the reason for the bsp problems is that the terrain may be way way too larg. are you creating super large triangles¿ don't! basically if you want it to look it's best, 3dsmax is what you need. it's not hard to use at all, just one or two basic tutorials is all you'll need for this. all you'll need is 3dsmax's basic functions. take a look at other maps' large mountainous terrain. i started doing that a few weeks ago. i reallized it is basically just some cylinders or very basic terrain edit forms. and it still looks nice because the lighting was done correctly. if the walls of the mountain are high enough, no one will look up much anyway.
     
  7. StoneViper

    StoneViper you can call me Mike

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    0
    btw, AS-Bridge is probable the best example i can give on this. open that map up in ued.
     
  8. Homeslice

    Homeslice A mapper not in the zone

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    I could do that....

    Thanks. By the way, what is 3dsmax and where can I get it? And should I use smaller triangles to make this work?....:rl:
     
  9. StoneViper

    StoneViper you can call me Mike

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: I could do that....

    3dsmax may be found on Kazaa, morpheous, or another file sharing software. ...or warez (good luck). i have friends that supply me with the goods (usually anyway).

    assuming the mountain is large. -> the triangles shouldn't be huge and very thin. they should be somewhat equal on the sides (sort of, kinda hard to explain). i know you will get massive ungodly HOMS doing it very tall and thin. i know from experience. and stay away from sharp corners. try to round them out the best you can. and make them as low-poly as practical for what you're doing.
     
  10. Homeslice

    Homeslice A mapper not in the zone

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have morpheus....

    (I don't mean the map, I mean the program :))

    How can I get it there? And is, like, a small, equal-sized terrain brush really the way to go here? :flak:
     
  11. StoneViper

    StoneViper you can call me Mike

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    0
    the right way to do terrain depends greatly on what it is you're trying to create (i mean the shape of it, and whether or not it is supposed to surround the map, or be a centerpiece).

    and when you say...
    do you mean get 3dsmax off morpheous¿, or port the 3dsmax creation to ued¿

    I've never used morpheous, so i can't be much help there.

    There should be an import option in ued, maybe under "brush", and import it as a "prefab". If that function isn't available, i know there are converters (on planetunreal) you can use to convert the brush from 3dsmax to ued. It will be a .t3d file.
     
  12. Homeslice

    Homeslice A mapper not in the zone

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks man....

    Have you tried this before? And has it worked well?

    Another thing, have you used AS-Bridge as an example when making a map?:cool:
     
  13. StoneViper

    StoneViper you can call me Mike

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    0
    i haven't made too many mountains, but when i did, they were very simple constructed, and looked a lot more real ingame. i haven't released any of these maps. i've actually deleted most of em'. i've never used as-bridge as an example really. i just happen to stumble across it in ued a few weeks ago.
     

Share This Page