1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Mixing different ram sizes...

Discussion in 'Hardware, Software & Troubleshooting' started by Captain Kewl, Sep 8, 2003.

  1. Captain Kewl

    Captain Kewl I know kewl.

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2001
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it okay to mix two different sizes of ram (made by the same manufacturer)? Say I have a 128 MB module and want to stick in a 256 MB. I've a 440BX board.

    tia.
     
  2. Hunter

    Hunter BeyondUnreal Newsie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    7,158
    Likes Received:
    23
    should work :)

    maybe put the 256 in slot 1 then the 128 in slot 2
     
  3. Swedix

    Swedix Retired from UT2004

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,853
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shouldn't be any problem. If they are on different speed they will run with the lowest.
     
  4. W0RF

    W0RF BuF Greeter, News Bagger

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    8,731
    Likes Received:
    0
    size and speed are not a problem, as has already been mentioned above. However, you can't mix different types, for example, SDRAM and DDR, even with mobo's that support both kinds.
     
  5. 0bside0

    0bside0 Transmogriphying...

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    All true - it'll be just fine, tho I would suggest (and this is just absolutely nit-picky) putting the 128mb dimm in the 1st slot rather than the 256. The difference will be VERY slight but access to the 128mb dimm will be faster than the 256 simply because it's smaller (i.e. less physical memory to search thru). The proc will access and fill up the 128 stick first then access the 256.

    Or you can just stick them in however you feel like. :D
     
  6. Hedge

    Hedge Wish I was with her

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only time this would make a difference is if you are overclocking or trying to run dual channel on a nforce2 motherboard.
     

Share This Page