1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Making a starship simulator

Discussion in 'Programming' started by akn81, Mar 1, 2002.

1. akn81

akn81 New Member

Hi there, I'm kinda new to editing UT but I was wondering, would it be possible to code a spaceship simulator MOD, something like Bridge Commander but simpler, with the following main features:

1. The AI will pilot the ship to combat other ships, you can assume control or just give orders and sit back.

2. You can also hand command over to an AI First Officer and just walk around the ship, peeking out thru windows and seeing the action that is going on outside, or head over to Engineering and watch repairs in progress- sounds cool eh?

Anyway I was just wondering if it were possible. Thanks :)

2. WheatPuppet

WheatPuppet Corriganism

Yes, everything is possible, but whether or not it is a good idea is another peach entirely.
    Imagine the download sizes... /me cringes in fear.

3. aspie

aspie It's all good baby.

So you would have your space ship (brush) inside a big subtractive box, with enemies and allies (meshes) flying around attacking each other and you. Yes would'nt be too hard. Although you'd have to simulate a controlled rotational skybox as your spaceship would be stationary.

4. WheatPuppet

WheatPuppet Corriganism