looking for a good strategy game

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

discreet

i love lamp.
Jun 25, 2004
nj represent
im lookin to get into a pretty good real time strategy game, preferably with good online support. i used to play starcraft back in the day, and i've been itching to get back into this type of game. i started playing age of mythology the other day and loved it. much better than warcraft 3. i know i'm a little behind the times with these types of games. any suggestions?

shadow_dragon

is ironing his panties!
Battle for middle earth 2 maybe? Or teh first one even, the style fo gameplay is quite different.

The first one is more about speed because base locations are fixed and build locations are in limited supply, thus strategic game points. You have to know what your doing really or you get destroyed but it's one of the few online RTS games i've enjoyed in my time.

The second one is slightly different because building is free again, you can build where ever you like and as much as you can afford. There are some capturable buildings kicking around that provide advantages and buffs. There's six races to choose from each with their own style of gameplay.
Units come in ranks rather than individuals and each type of unit has it's own strengths and weaknesses but generally speaking there is no finer feeling than watching your cavalry trample through and making short work of several ranks of enemy infantry.