1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Level Screenshot is all grainy?

Discussion in 'Mapping' started by CousCous, Jul 6, 2001.

  1. CousCous

    CousCous Hysteric

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    My level screenshot looks decent in the texture browser, but whenever it's viewed in game, it looks all grainy and crappy compared to the rest of the screenshots. I reduced the screenshot with psp7 and I can't figure out how to make it look good. Any help?
     
  2. Qbic

    Qbic The horrors...

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2001
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    For some reason the screenshot always looks grainier in-game than in the texture browser. I don't think anybody will notice, I didn't until I took a closer look. You could try some palette manipulation, I don't know how this is done in PSP though.
     
  3. OshadowO

    OshadowO Irregular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2000
    Messages:
    4,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try deleting it and reimporting it. Did you make sure its 16 bit bmp?(256 colours I think) PLus theres a checkbox when you're importing the shot in that must not be checked.
     
  4. CousCous

    CousCous Hysteric

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm.I wasn't aware if any box that was supposed to be unchecked...I'll try that. Thanks to both of you...
     
  5. _Zd_3s_

    _Zd_3s_ Regristered User

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    4,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, the "Generate Mipmaps" box is forgotten most of the time. Also, import it as pcx rather than bmp. It worked better for me. :)
     
  6. CousCous

    CousCous Hysteric

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, none of these things worked...I imported the texture without the 'generate mipmaps' box checked and I tried importing it as .pcx...no luck. It's not really that big of a deal, it's just that I'd hate it if the first image that people see of my map is inferior to all the other screenshots...looks pretty amateurish. And don't get me wrong, I'm a total amateur, I just don't want it to be obvious... ;)
     
  7. Euphoric Beaver

    Euphoric Beaver impeccably groomed

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2001
    Messages:
    3,158
    Likes Received:
    0
    What size are you using?
    I use 512 by 512.

    And they look okay on my small resolution.
     
  8. CousCous

    CousCous Hysteric

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmmmmm...I thought it had to be 256x256. Well, I'll go give that a shot...thanks Ciced.
     
  9. [IMD1]KillRoy

    [IMD1]KillRoy Suck my boomstick!

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it has to do with the program you use to make the screenshots.

    If you change it from 24-bit colour to 8-bit colour. If you do it you must choose 8-bit with an optimized pallete. I think psp7 does it in 8-bit unifrom format (see the two pics and the difference)

    I dont know of a good free paint program that does this, but I use CorelDraw 9, Adobe also works very well.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  10. ChrisToth.hu

    ChrisToth.hu Level Designer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Messages:
    2,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another tip:
    First change the image size and palettize only afterwards...
    Better quality.
     

Share This Page