1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

ISPs "throttling" ports?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by O_DoGG, Feb 11, 2005.

  1. O_DoGG

    O_DoGG Le Boner

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm no technical expert for this matter, so please bear with my stupid questions and/or my poor explanations. ;)

    When browsing for documentation on how to configure eMule properly, I found a webpage which recommended to change the default tcp port (4662) becaus some ISPs limited the bandwidth on this one or even blocked it. I changed the tcp port to 80, and have noticed a huuuuuuuuuge rise of my download speed (multiplicated by 5). I'm planning to try to change it again and choose a random number around 4000 to see if it makes a difference.

    Now onto the questions:

    - have you heard of this kind of actions from ISPs? Is it common, rare, or just plain fiction?

    - if ISPs do that, are there preferable ports which are not usually limited?

    - Can or do ISPs limit ports used for network games? Should I try and change the port Infiltration uses too, if it's possible?
     
  2. DeMachina

    DeMachina gone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Common. It's one of the use case my boss used as an exemple yesterday. We're building an engine that's going to make it even easier for ISP to do that :hmm:

    Any port not used by P2P apps.

    They can, but I doubt any of them do. So, no.
     
  3. Hadmar

    Hadmar Queen Bitch of the Universe

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    5,463
    Likes Received:
    29
    Heard about it and read about it in an ISP test in a computer magazine some months ago. Some do it and some don't. If they do it it's usualy the ports used for P2P progs.
     
  4. Crowze

    Crowze Bird Brain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    1
    I know one ISP over here who blocks P2P access on their cheapest package, and make you pay an extra £3 or so per month just to allow P2P.

    Surprisingly, I went for a different ISP.
     
  5. (SDS)benmcl

    (SDS)benmcl Why not visit us here in the real world.

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Our ISP at work, which is highspeed wireless that is very fast (T1) and reliable, sells an additional package called a gamers package for an additional $10 a month. We don't need it so we don't have it. I am assuming they are throttling some ports and just change some settings if we get the package.
     
  6. Harrm

    Harrm I am watching porns.

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I change only my TCP port without changing my other port settings? Control panel?

    --Harrm
     
  7. DEFkon

    DEFkon Shhh

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 1999
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've noticed that since i got broadband that most of the downloads that go through my browsers seem to be limited to about 200kps... though for some reason steam updates are super super fast and often report a download speed of 1.1MBs which is close to my theortical 1.5MB capacity. I'm curious if it's just steam fibbing, or of my surfing speeds are being limited. *shrugs*
     
  8. Hadmar

    Hadmar Queen Bitch of the Universe

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    5,463
    Likes Received:
    29
    The servers you DL from might not offer faster speed. Try to DL several big files from different locations at the same time and see how that goes. Also, watch out for the difference between b and B; bits and bytes.
    1.5MB/s would be a 12Mb/s conection, which seems a tad high.
    1.5Mb/s would be maxed at 187.5kB/s, which seems a bit closer to the number you posted.
     
  9. O_DoGG

    O_DoGG Le Boner

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I changed the tcp port to some random number around 4000, and downloads speeds haven't dropped. Looks like my beloved isp is only throttling port 4662 :) (was afraid it would block a whole range). Connection tests indicate that my line has really the down/up speed indicated by my isp.

    Just out of curiosity, I'll try to change the port Inf uses, as I'm wondering if isps can monitor the amount of traffic going through a specific port, and subsequently limit it. I might be overly paranoïd, but with my little technical knowledge, I can only rely on my imagination :lol:
     
  10. unixman

    unixman [pthread] The Clan of One

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2001
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    With a layer 4 traffic shaper, they can identify protocols by the packet signature. It doesn't matter what port it's on. The only way to defeat that would be to tunnel through a encypted channel.

    I would say, without doubt, that ISPs are going to be using these. We use one on the university campus I work at.

    http://www.shaperworks.com/PacketShaper.asp
     
  11. Lord_Bunker

    Lord_Bunker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,811
    Likes Received:
    0
    i don't know about isp's but i know when i was out at kstate, they constantly bitched about bandwidth usage and how it was costing them all kinds of money and how all the file sharing stuff was responsible. could be the same reason that isp's use.
     

Share This Page