1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

In game mouse speed-help please

Discussion in 'Original Unreal Tournament' started by DragonAsh, Aug 8, 2000.

  1. DragonAsh

    DragonAsh Hentai-like

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2000
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, I just got my new intelli mouse and that thing is too dam accurate for my own good. My movements as WAY to fast and its kinds hard to aim.

    Since i never found out, its about time I do. How do i adjust the mouse speed in the ini file for in game performance?
     
  2. Rooster

    Rooster Local Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2000
    Messages:
    5,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol, dude.. at least TRY to find it on your own first.

    Click Tools.. Preferences... Control... Mouse Sensitivity (not GUI Mouse speed) - pick a number. If it's too sensitive, make the number smaller.
     
  3. FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS

    FROM_ THE_ HEAVENS New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am at work now.... so i can't name the exact setting

    but i use the same mouse.
    i changed mine in the INI...
    somewhere you can set your x & y sensitivity for your mouse separately.
    the only way i can see adjusting them separately being practical is using multiple monitors...
    thus dealing with odd resolutions.. therefore needing to cover more or less area in x&y directions.
    as for the fast movements...
    well that is the drawback of the IE mouse.
    i use to use really fast twitch type movements when i would aim out of reflex which would disorient the mouse.
    eventually i had to find a sensitivity relative to changing how "controlled" my twitch was..
    if that makes no sense sorry.
    seems the new IE mice/opticals have a better led image rate and don't have as much as a problem as the older ones.
    hope this helps any.
     
  4. Mrukk

    Mrukk Inhuman

    Joined:
    May 10, 2000
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    What Rooster said... also, like any new mouse it will take a little bit to get used to it, but you'll find it is awesome after a while.

    Make sure you have the mouse speed set reasonable high, because if it is low and you have to move the mouse quickly across a fair distance to do 180's etc you might find that it skips a bit and you end up facing the floor or something. I wasn't sure if it would ever work for me, but with the speed high I can just do small movements with the mouse and never have any problems :)
     
  5. DragonAsh

    DragonAsh Hentai-like

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2000
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    bah i found it on my own way b4 roo even posted.

    My friend has been playing all day.
    Hes no longer allowe over my house for the simple fact that he takes over my tvand comp everytime.
     
  6. Rooster

    Rooster Local Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2000
    Messages:
    5,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Uhh.. he's not your friend. He's just using you.

    Unless it's a girl of course. In which case it's ok. :)
     
  7. DragonAsh

    DragonAsh Hentai-like

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2000
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    bah

    either way, i only remembered a mouse gui speed control in the game

    I thought i had to edit the user ini file
    (i did anyway) ;p
     
  8. |YFL|We@sel

    |YFL|We@sel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't it Preferences...Input...Mouse sensitivity ?
     
  9. Rooster

    Rooster Local Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2000
    Messages:
    5,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Probably.. I'm at work, had to run by memory. It was around there. :)
     
  10. |YFL|We@sel

    |YFL|We@sel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    btw...

    And btw Rooster, to what have you put your mouse sensitivity? (if you can remember:)
     
  11. Boom

    Boom Rumpshaking Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get a Boomslang!!

    You can adjust sensitivity on the fly (the Boomslang sensitivity setting, not the UT game sensitivity setting).

    I was in a big instagib CTF game with the Stallion last night (I know how you feel about instagib CTF Rooster, but I don't get to play with Stallion that often, and a bunch of my other PuF friends were there. Besides, it turned out to be tons of fun).

    Anyway, I have the sensitivity turned up real high so I can spin around and do some twitch shots (or try to do twitch shots). By "real high" I mean Boomslang sensitivity at 8.5 verticle and 10 horizontal (yes, seperate settings), and UT sensitivity at 2, and I don't remember what the window setting is set at.

    Then I go out in front of the base for some aggressive defense. I hold down the thumb button and spin the mousewheel a few clicks down and my Boomslang sensitivity is immediately lowered. Now I can get superprecise aiming on the bad guys from far far away. All of a sudden a few of them rush me. I hold down the thumb button and spin the mouse wheel up up up up, and max out my sensitivity (I have the UT mouse sensitivity at 2, so it doesn't get ridiculous when I boost up the boomslang sensitivity). So now I am supersensitive and I can spin and dance around and try to twitch shot people.

    Imagine if one of you guys with skills could do this. This has some serious potential.
     
  12. DividedSky

    DividedSky Fabio-like<br><img src="http://www-atm.ucdavis.edu

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2000
    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Boom -

    Doesn't changing sensitivities all the time throw you off? To me, it would seem like the way to go would be to stick with one sensitivity setting and just get really used to it. Of course that's just me - and the other day I took a plunger to my bathtub because I thought it was plugged up, but in reality I had accidentally bumped the lever to stop the drain - so I'm kind of an idiot :)
     
  13. Arcturus

    Arcturus Not From Bloody Starcraft

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2000
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    12
    a suggestion

    this is what i tend to do..

    the best thing to do is to find a mouse sensitivity (reasonable low but comfortable to play with), and get used to it, then, increase the sensitivity a bit, and get used to the new setting. keep increasing it so its quite high, so u can turn those 180s quickly and be comfortable with the controls as well.
     
  14. |YFL|We@sel

    |YFL|We@sel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    firestorm

    Fire, ur a genius! U know why? Cause thats exactly what i do:)
     
  15. Boom

    Boom Rumpshaking Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Divided Sky:

    I don't really change it all the time. I have one setting that I use 99.9% of the time, and I am experimenting with lowering the sensitivity for that 00.1% of the time when I snipe. I just got the Boomslang and I'm still playing around with it. It seems like the ingame switching has potential, but I may give up on it and just bind that thumb button to shout out "BOOM!". Anyway, I usually keep the sensitivity as high I as I handle it without totally losing my ability to aim.

    But I like the idea of lowering it on those rare occasions when I wanna snipe at someone who is far away, then immediately bumping it back up to where it was. With my "normal" setting (as high as I can stand) it is hard to get that crosshair on that one little pixel that represents my enemy at 500 yards away.

    There is no way I could play an entire game switching it all around all the time. Just super high sensitivity for everything, and very rarely lower it for those super rare events when I wanna snipe (or instagib at long distance, like I was doing last night) at someone on the other side of the world.
     
  16. DragonAsh

    DragonAsh Hentai-like

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2000
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, i noticed the skipping while playing today.
    I totally forgot i had a match today too. So its not good to get used to a mouse the last minute.

    Tell ya what though, my aim kicks ***. Pin-point accuracy. But I have the speed set to 5. I need it higher since i do fast paced moves. Looks like i need to work on this
     
  17. ~Cobra~

    ~Cobra~ Cursed!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2000
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    like Boom said... get a Boomslang :D.. i personally don't use the on-the-fly sensitivity but it's nice to have around...

    oh and boom, u get that replacement yet?
     
  18. Boom

    Boom Rumpshaking Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not yet, everyday I rush home to check the mail.

    Even with the problems I'm having, this Boomslang is far better than what I was using before.
     

Share This Page