1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

If you're having problems loading INF 2.86 on a Mac...

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Alpha_9, Aug 28, 2001.

  1. Coke&Pepsi Suck

    Coke&Pepsi Suck Soft Drink Baron

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2001
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    :-0

    I installed inf. 2,86 for the 10th time from the manual install and when I ran it from the downloaded mac installer, I get a Can't find Class in file 'Class Engine.Animation'" UT then quits. THIS IS REALLY GETTING ANNOYING........ I wonder what led the INF team to leave out the umod installer from 2.86. It always worked for me.
     
  2. Jackal<QSF>

    Jackal<QSF> One of the last INF OG's!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    PEEP you need to install with the manual instaler

    other wise your gona have a ton of problems runing 2.86

    as for vecna99 just rase the INF launcher mem you dont need mutch but you need about 75% more than whats it s at now

    you should aslo drop your Mem on your UT app thats way to high
    my prefered is at 299474 and my min is at the delfault
     
  3. fauker

    fauker Louqe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    it doesnt happen on levels but when im trying to start the game. i cant even get in the main screen. it starts loading but then stops and says that im missing the thing.
     
  4. fauker

    fauker Louqe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    and also, what u told me to do with the folders switching dont make sense. could u repeat it a lil better?
     
  5. Jackal<QSF>

    Jackal<QSF> One of the last INF OG's!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    take the contents(files) form the new folders and put them in the old folder

    and replace the files


    do not take the new folder and replace the old foder for the new one
     
  6. fauker

    fauker Louqe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    when u say folder, which one r u refering to? or folders, which ones?
     
  7. peep

    peep peep==class

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2001
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ya, I did the manual this afternoon & it worked. I can't use the grab function yet but I'll take a look back through the forums cause I think that's been discussed.
    I saw some info on using a MS intellimouse earlier but can't find it anymore. Does anyone know where that went or what the link was to install alternate drivers?

    Thanks
     
  8. Jackal<QSF>

    Jackal<QSF> One of the last INF OG's!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    just tourn off your global setings for you inelimouse and you can use the bottons
     
  9. [V] Jones

    [V] Jones New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got mine working!!!

    For what its worth I'll stick in my experience. First time I installed (complete fresh installation from UT disk and 436 update) everything worked fine! I just had a few map and texture problems. Went back and tried another fresh install using the Mac installer...bad move...I tried this 3 or 4 times and it never worked, the error I was getting was a 'read beyond end-of-file' when launching UT.

    Tried the manual install again but started getting 'out-of-memory' errors after loading the full map pack. Again tried this 3 or 4 times but no luck.

    Finally, I remembered that I had downloaded the original working copy from Infiltration Germany, so I got the manual 286 install and full map pack from there, did another fresh installation and...bingo! Had to increase UT memory to 200k but that was all (even got a FAMAS). The Grab fix posted elsewhere works fine. The missing part of the Infiltration.ini file is:

    Aliases[25]=(Command="Grab | OnRelease UnGrab",Alias=INFGrab)

    Just got to sort out why I cant see any servers! (think this may be a firewall prob)
     
  10. fauker

    fauker Louqe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    GOD DAMIT MOTHER FU**ER WILL I EVER BE ABLE TO PLAY INF? CAN I GET AN ANSWER THAT I CAN 1, unerstand. wshich fodlers to new folders and old 1s. WHICH FOLDERS! GIMME A NAME! 2, maybe an answer form some1 who made the game some1 on the team. I REALLY WANNA PLAY THIS GAME!
     
  11. Equus Pr8

    Equus Pr8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2000
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow

    SuperDude,

    Relax and breathe. You ain't gonna get help blowing your frickin top. Do this: *breathes in*...*breathes out* It helps, trust me.

    I am kicking myself for not writing down what I did installing 2.86, but I have seen none of the problems people are reporting with the Mac installs. The only probs I had were:

    1) the grab bug, but there are documented fixes in the forum and I don't think it's a Mac thing.

    2) The windrv problem. This is a holdover from 2.85 and in all honesty, shouldn't have surfaced again. But people who write and test FREE software are human and make mistakes.

    What I can remember doing:

    1) Downloaded the first release from MUF's server. It had the exe in it and loads of folders. I waited and soon found that a manual install was available. I grabbed it and it had folders that resembled the directory structure of the Unreal Tournament folder. There was also a folder called INF (or Infiltration) and it, too, had sub folders resembling the Unreal Tournament directory structure. (There was also a big README file. It said what files went where. Good read. :) )

    Now 2.85 did this too, but slightly different. Instead of having an INF folder and then the sounds, maps, textures, etc inside it, it had folders in the UT folder that mimic'd the UT structure but with INF_ appended to the names.

    I think I took the INF (or Infiltration) folder and put it into the Unreal Tournment folder. I then looked in the other folders that were inside the uncompressed installer folder and found them all empty except the System folder. I took the files in that and copied them to the Unreal Tournament folder.

    *******Big note********
    Before I did all this, I backed up my System folder and the old INF_System folder. I also made a copy of my Infiltration.ini and INFuser.ini files.

    2) After copying the new files over and then copying in the map files from the new map pack, I launched the INF_sys_app launcher. (The one that requires you to click the mouse.) I started to load but got the windrv error. I remembered this one, so I opened the new .ini file and the old .ini file (Infiltration.ini, if i recall). I looked for windrv and copied the appropriate section from the old one to the new one.

    3) Relaunched and it worked. :)

    One thing I noticed was that the "new" Mac launcher had the exact same creation and modification date as the old one. I use the old one and it works great. It still says INF 2.85 at startup, but it works.


    I hope I got this right. Like I said, I didn't write down what I did. I got it loaded and jumped online. (Who wouldn't? :) ) I'm also at work right now so I can't look at my 'puter to see what I did.

    Hope this helps. I'd be glad to try and help if anyone still has Mac problems.

    Equus-{Pr8}
     
  12. Jackal<QSF>

    Jackal<QSF> One of the last INF OG's!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey EQ i haveint seen you in a while


    Super dude i would realy sugest just following my steps that are on page 2


    and INF WILL RUN PERFECTLY!!!!

    if you want help just ICQ me

    i am more than willing to help anyone
     
  13. Solitare

    Solitare New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Out of memory errors.

    Ive got 500 Mb allocated to UT, 1k to the mac launcher. I have no problems with the load or game play. The problem I have is when I go to the server browser and try and choose a server. About 60% of the time, clicking the mouse on one of the servers causes unreal to quit giving me an out of memory error. about 10% of the time, just moving the mouse in the server browser window is enough to send it back to fnider w/ the out of memory error. Then 30 % of the time inf loads fine. i would think that 500 mb allocated should be plenty w/o very frequent crashes. I never had this problem w/ version 2.85, and any help is appriciated
     
  14. Equus Pr8

    Equus Pr8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2000
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sol,

    How much RAM is installed in your system? Not Virtual Memory, just the physical. What OS are you running?

    Example: I'm running OS 9.1, I have 512MB RAM in my Mac and I have 290MB allocated to Unreal Tourney. There's 204K allocated to the Mac launcher.

    The 290MB (292237K exactly) is in the Preferred memory allocation field, not the minimum. Leave the minimum alone; it shouldn't be touched.


    It seems that everytime INF gets updated (or any UT mod) the RAM requirements for UT get higher. Heck, I just haggled a 256MB stick out of a friend and it's going into the pretty grey box right after I post this. :)

    Heya Jack, ain't seen you either for a while. What servers you frag on?

    Equus-{Pr8}
     
  15. Solitare

    Solitare New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eq

    192 Mb is physical, 400 or sumptin is virtual. Im using OS 9.1. I realize that I dont have a whole lot of physical ram allocated to UT, but I would think that there is enough virtual to prevent out of memory errors.
     
  16. PorterINF

    PorterINF New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2001
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Solitare, I used to run INF on 192MB ram. It crashed alot and ran choppy but it ran. I could even host a game for a couple of hours then it would usually crash. The picture below shows that INF is using 110MB while in the Server Browser (note that I have no VM turned on because I have 576MB of ram) which prooves that giving it 500MB is useless. I have 250MB allocated and that is really overkill.

    Try this:
    -Set VM at 333MB (there is a formula somewhere but I can't remember)
    -Allocate 150-180MB (I think I used to have mine set for 170000K) to UT-you want to try to use as little VM as possible
    Don't run any other programs when you're running INF. When the server browser is loading wait til it has completely loaded before you move the cursor.

    You can also make a special extentions set with MacOS All and just the extentions to run the game (input device, and any upgraded graphics card or sound card). This will make the OS use less memory, which means more memory for INF.

    Tell me if you have any success. The best solution is to get some more physical ram. I recommend at least another 128MB, 256MB would be much better.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Equus Pr8

    Equus Pr8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2000
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    (And I see someone beat me to the response as I was typing. :) )


    I'd suspect your ram allocation as being a cause. Virtual Memory is nice in concept, but it rarely works as reliably as physical RAM. The reason is that your hard drive is what's used for the virtual memory. If you're reserving 400MB of drive space for virtual memory, you're gonna be dealing with quite a bit of drive access and non-contiguous space being used due to file fragmentation.

    Physical RAM is an order of magnitude faster than your hard drive, even if it's an Ultra160 SCSI drive. Ifyou're running UT and most of the memory allocated to it is drive space, you're just asking for it to choke while trying to read & write to the drive as it would to physical RAM.

    Try setting your Memory Control Panel to at most, twice the physical memory amount. Then set the Unreal Tournament Preferred memory setting to something as close to the physical memory as you can.

    Here's a snippet from earlier in the thread from Alpha9:
    ======================
    Just FYI, I run INF 2.86 on 256 MB of installed RAM, 200 dedicated to UT. Only get rare out-of-memory crashes, and that's after playing a ton of maps & then trying to load up a 12 MB monster like Falkenstein! So I doubt you need to set up 500MB of Virtual Memory.
    ======================

    Basically, your best fix is to go to the web and buy another stick or two of RAM. You can buy 256MB RAM for the PowerMac G4 from MemoryX for $50.

    Equus-{Pr8}
     
  18. PorterINF

    PorterINF New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2001
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very good explaination of VM Equus Pr8. :)
     
  19. Equus Pr8

    Equus Pr8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2000
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Muchas Gracias.

    My job title is Macintosh Systems Specialist. :)

    I actually have a job where I get to enjoy my work. Heh, work somewhere where every few months we order the latest computer systems..... Whoopee!

    My ex said it kept our expenses down because I didn't have to buy the toys out of our budget. :D

    Equus-{Pr8}
     
  20. PorterINF

    PorterINF New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2001
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool job! Is there a formula for VM settings, as in a percentage of physical ram? I swear I heard that it is blank amount less than twice physical ram.
     

Share This Page