Idea for a mapping tutrorial

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

DrDoomed

Nov 4, 2003
srry if this type of thread isnt allowed

ok im gonna make this short i just typed up a long thread and when i submitted it said i wasnt logged in and lost what i wrote :/

basically i am a noob mapper. i used wiki (good site) to learn the basics of mapping but when i want to translate my own ideas into a map i get stuck. This is because i do not have a full understanding of the tools due to the simple tutorials on offer.

Basically i feel that for a n00b to learn they need to see pro's in action, so i propose that somebody on the wiki makes a step by step tutorial on the making of an already existing complex DM map from start to finish.

This would help me and many others fully understand the process of mapping and when and where certain tools are used, to achieve desired effects.

thanks

DrDoomed

Nov 4, 2003
tarquin said:
That sort of thing is really hard to explain.

There's pages like http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/wiki/Z-Axis that explain certain concepts in creating maps.

What sort of tools do you need help with?

(and btw yes, it would be better to discuss this on the wiki itself.)

( ok no more threads like this then :) next time it'll be on the wiki)

well my brain is pretty retarded so take it into account. I understand the actual concepts of mapping , flow , wep placement etc i take that in pretty well. I also understand what the tools do.