1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

I need advice on which vid card to get.

Discussion in 'Hardware, Software & Troubleshooting' started by Monsoon, Feb 10, 2005.

  1. wagwannadon

    wagwannadon Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nvidia 6800 Ultra.
     
  2. The_Head

    The_Head JB Mapper

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,092
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats a bummer.... just looked at the American ebuyer they have completely different stock..... Haven't really looked for a similar priced comp on American sites

    Its £250 so thats $466. I guess you could get it shipped across but that might cost a lot (no idea how much)

    About whether it would work in the USA, afaik (never been there) you would only have to get a different power connecter, you use 220volts iirc, so you may also need a new power suply, have seen really good ones for $60 so you could probably find an adequete US one for around $20.

    Might be going out of your budget though....
     
  3. [UM]theswarm

    [UM]theswarm Spork of the Apocalypse!

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well most power supplies have a switch for the voltage or something like that don't they?
     
  4. wagwannadon

    wagwannadon Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nvidia 6 series of cards are the best.
     
  5. Deathmaker

    Deathmaker Balanced

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you actually read the thread?
     
  6. wagwannadon

    wagwannadon Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, monsoon3 needs a new card. ;)
     
  7. Renegade Retard

    Renegade Retard Defender of the newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,911
    Likes Received:
    0
    UNR3AL,

    That card will do his current system no good. You can't stick a 6800 Ultra into a Pentium III 450 and expect to see results.

    Bottom line: the system itself is just outdated and needs replacing.
     
  8. The_Head

    The_Head JB Mapper

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,092
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeh you could deduce that from the thread title
     
  9. W0RF

    W0RF BuF Greeter, News Bagger

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    8,731
    Likes Received:
    0
    /me stops reading. Go buy a new computer.
     
  10. Twisted Metal

    Twisted Metal Anfractuous Aluminum

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,122
    Likes Received:
    3
  11. Monsoon

    Monsoon New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2000
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    To hell with upgrading, I'll just buy another comp!

    This is what I'm getting


    eMachines T3256



    Processor-- AMD Athlon XP 3200+ (2.2 GHz)
    RAM installed-- 512 MB DDR SDRAM
    Cache size - type-- 512 KB L2 cache
    Hard drive-- 160 GB Standard
    2nd hard drive-- None None
    CD / DVD drive-- DVD±RW IDE
    2nd optical storage type-- CD-ROM
    Monitor type - technology - form factor-- None.
    Graphics processor-- NVidia nForce2 IGP
    Audio output-- Integrated Sound card
    Cabinet form factor-- Tower
    Dimensions (W x D x H)-- 7.2 in x 16 in x 14.1 in
    Built-in devices-- LED indicators
    OS provided-- Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition


    $529.95
     
  12. W0RF

    W0RF BuF Greeter, News Bagger

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    8,731
    Likes Received:
    0
    e-machine... :shake:


    n00b
     
  13. B

    B Bee

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    8,973
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol how friendly W0RF :D

    Monsoon3, do NOT get a E-machine, they are completely crap.

    They make you want to buy it because it has an XP 3200 (and you think wow 3200!!!1one! Thats fast I want one.!) but it has crap memory: SDRAM, pure evil!! It has a crappy motherboard, one to accomodate the SDRAM, which prolly isn't top notch, etc.

    You best bet is building your own system (or let a friend do it if you don't know how to.)
     
  14. W0RF

    W0RF BuF Greeter, News Bagger

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    8,731
    Likes Received:
    0
    and their modems explode.

    no, seriously, they do.

    I would BUILD you a better comp than that for probably less money.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2005
  15. Thanatos45

    Thanatos45 Frag-tastic

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    It doesn't have crappy RAM, DDR is just a form of SDRAM (AFAIK, please don't kill me if I'm wrong :p), we all have it inside our rigs (well unless you are one of the two persons on this world who still has RD or EDO ram) ;)

    But for the rest, well, if 2 persons say an E-machine is crap, it probably is despite what I said :p

    edit: and if you buy a new comp, PLEASE buy a decent graphics card for it if you want to play any games, integrated graphics is, together with non- DDR SDram, the incarnation of pure, unwashed evil.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2005
  16. W0RF

    W0RF BuF Greeter, News Bagger

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    8,731
    Likes Received:
    0
    K7N2 DELTA2-LSR mobo
    Athlon XP 3200+
    512MB PC3200 DDR
    GeForce 6600

    Right there, $500 per Newegg. Another $50 or so for the case and fans and wiring and I've basically matched the e-machines build with superior hardware, including a video card.

    I'm assuming, though, that you're using your original monitor, hard drives, cd-drives, and Windows. There's nothing I can do about the cost of a Windows upgrade. Other components like a DVD-ROM or whatever I can get a fair deal on, and there's even a chance I can order some hardware at cost to save more money.

    My point is, even if you don't ask me directly to build it, you can do better than what they're offering at their price.
     
  17. Monsoon

    Monsoon New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2000
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I saw this ad at PCmicrostore.com:

    AMD ATHLON64 3500+ PIB (ADA3500AWBOX) $284.00
     
  18. W0RF

    W0RF BuF Greeter, News Bagger

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    8,731
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's for the processor alone, with heatsink and fan in box.
     
  19. Monsoon

    Monsoon New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2000
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I install these parts into my comp?
     
  20. W0RF

    W0RF BuF Greeter, News Bagger

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    8,731
    Likes Received:
    0
    very likely. If your other hardware (hard drive, CDROM etc) are older, then they may still run slowly. I doubt you'll have much trouble, but for example, if the bus speed of your hard drive is slower than the mobo ATA bus (unlikely but possible), than your comp will continue to shuttle data to and from the hard drive at the lower speed.

    Without complete knowledge of your parts I can't say anything for 100% certain, but a cautious guess is that you could pull it off. With some luck, you wouldn't even have to reinstall Windows to get it working right.

    You should realize, though, that replacing the motherboard basically amounts to tearing down your entire system and rebuilding it. It's more involved than just plugging in a card or even hooking up an IDE drive.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2005

Share This Page