1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

How to install UMOD files?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Software & Troubleshooting' started by hijks, Feb 24, 2001.

1. hijks

hijks New Member

Greetings!

I am new to UT addons and have no idea how to install .UMOD files! Can someone please enlighten me what kind program I need or what steps I need to install new models and skins. Thank you very much :) !

Stephen

2. 8-4-7-2

8-4-7-2 New Member

Welcome to PuF
    /me humps the n00b

To install umods just doubleclick on them.

Skins: there is usually a readme that tells where to put the files. utx goes to UT/Textures for example

3. hijks

hijks New Member

Uh-oh...

Hello!

Double-clicking UMOD does not seem to work on my system. Windows does not recognize the file as any readable files, so every time I double-clicked it, it just pops up a list of files for me to open. Is there any other way to help decompress the UMOD if double-clicking is not working :( ? Thanks!

Stephen

4. 8-4-7-2

8-4-7-2 New Member

You have a b0rked file assocation

If even that somehow fails, reinstall UT

5. Robot TinMan|BuF

Robot TinMan|BuF Godlike Blues Brutha

Hmm, try to drag the umod file onto the Unrealtournament.exe file.
    That would be the same as Shift + right click the umod and choose "Open with" and then find the Unrealtournament.exe
    If Ur on Windoze that is. ;)
    For Mac: I have no clue. :p

Edit: I just luuv simultaneous postings.;)
    Try the above, but remember to backup the registry 1st.