1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

UE1 - UT Help! Sound Browser not working

Discussion in 'Music & Sound' started by K, Nov 6, 2008.

  1. K

    K i bite

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,112
    Likes Received:
    0
    :(
    This is really pissing me off and i guess i cant figure it out by myself.

    When i open the sound browser and select a sound , and press play . . . . .

    Nothing happens :eek:
    It doesn't play the sound. WTF?

    I have tried closing all other programs and then booting ED. same results.:mad:

    Has any one heard of this happening?
    I'm about finished with a new map except for the sounds.
    How do i fix this?
     
  2. War_Master

    War_Master Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try re-patching with the 436 version. If you have the 451 version, I've heard it has many bugs on UED. Besides, 451 wasnt released by Epic but a community, and it was meant for Dedicated servers mostly.
     
  3. K

    K i bite

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,112
    Likes Received:
    0
    I only use 436 for player installs. I am a server admin and know the uselessness of 451.
    But yeah i will try that. Nine times out of ten repatching the 436 fixes things. :lol:
    Will report back if doesn't work.
    Thanks for the suggestion. :)

    [EDIT]
    Ok i repatched to 436.
    Opend ED and the sound browser , select a sound and press play.
    Bang back in business!
    Load up my map - Still good on play back.
    I select a sound , listen to it a couple times , assign it to a triggered ambient sound actor.
    Now i want to fix my lift sounds so i try to hear other sounds in list "same file" WTF?? NO SOUND??

    What can be causing this?
    Does my computer have down syndrome?

    I am making a MH map do you think the MH package could be causing this problem?
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2008
  4. Hourences

    Hourences New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2000
    Messages:
    5,050
    Likes Received:
    0
    I moved it for you but I am not sure youd get so much help in this forum, it isn't that alive.

    Does your sound always work in game?

    Make sure no other sound is playing. Disable realtime preview etc.

    May be settings like hardware sound and such, turn off all sound options? Possibly even revert to default ini?

    Does this only happen to those specific lift sounds? May be naming issue then.
     
  5. K

    K i bite

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,112
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have no sound options ie " 3d sound what not" enabled
    No other programs running in background.
    In game sounds are not effected.

    Sound browser does not play sounds period.
    I am trying to add all the sounds to the map.
    This is impossible without the browser samples.

    I re-patched to 436 and it worked until i assigned a sound then stopped working again.
    I cannot hear samples of anything.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2008
  6. Davill

    Davill New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got the same problem in UnrealED2 (Unreal v227).
    No magic helps me :(
    So still nobody knows the cure?
     
  7. War_Master

    War_Master Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    0
    I couldn't tell ya about Unreal because I never had the game or its editor. What you could try anyways is remove/delete the edito'rs .ini configuration file and launch the editor so that it makes a new one. This usually works because it makes a fresh ini with all its default set.
     
  8. Davill

    Davill New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, War_Master! It realy helped me.
    However, not for a long time. I need to delete .ini again and again for sound design :-(
     
  9. Davill

    Davill New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found the problem of sound browser, men!!! If it will be helpful for someone - you can hear the sound only if you have at least one viewport open to a 3D mode. So simple!

    May be admins will add this to UnrealED's FAQ
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2011
  10. Median12

    Median12 Mapper

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Reverts back

    Thanks for that, I didn't know.
     

Share This Page