1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Help! Model animation problems!

Discussion in 'Hardware, Software & Troubleshooting' started by Falcon IceHole, Feb 19, 2001.

  1. Falcon IceHole

    Falcon IceHole New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    These three problems happen ONLY when I play on the XXXX UT server.

    1) The models move around without any character animation. They skate on one
    foot, shooting into the ground. When they die, they just stand there, and I
    keep shooting them not knowing they are dead, then I get killed because I am
    not paying attention to a real enemy.

    2) When a new round starts, I am stuck in place. I can't move or look
    around, yet I can shoot and hear the play going on around me, and I can see
    other players if they come into my line of sight. Other players can see my
    chat as well (I think)

    3) Occasionally, if I reconnect after problem 2, I can move around, but
    cannot pick anything up, or shoot anyone. It is as if I am a ghost.

    Any thoughts?

    Here are some screenies...


    http://members.home.net/dankaneis/skate1.jpg


    http://members.home.net/dankaneis/skate2.jpg


    http://members.home.net/dankaneis/skate3.jpg


    http://members.home.net/dankaneis/skate4.jpg
     
  2. ION_Ace

    ION_Ace Assault player

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2000
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let me guess, u installed textures from 2nd cd ?
     
  3. Falcon IceHole

    Falcon IceHole New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I did. I am sorry, I forgot to mention that in the first post.

    I usually run in d3d, but If I disable them in openGL with UseS3TC=0, it still happens.

    Also, it only happens on this one server I like to play on, with a lot of friends.
     
  4. Viking1

    Viking1 Highly Unstable

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2000
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Recopy cd1 textures into game folder and use S3TC=0 if you still want to use OpenGL.
     
  5. Falcon IceHole

    Falcon IceHole New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, I don't want to use openGL. It gives me very choppy framerates. I have tried the loki driver, and the new epic driver. The new driver locks up the machine when I quit UT.

    D3D works fine for me. I am using Dx 7.0a and Detonator 6.47. Would going to Dx8 and newer detonators help?

    If I reinstall the cd1 textures, is this going to fix the skating model animations? I really like the textures I see right now, but I am not certain that d3d is using the s3tc textures. It looks to me like they are.

    Why would the missing animations only happen on this one server? Every other server I try works fine. I would rather discover what the server is doing wrong, and pass the info on to the admin so he can fix the server.

    This is a new server, and the admin is still tweaking things a bit. I can be in contact with him easily.

    This game has been out long enough that these sorts of bugs should be fixed long ago.
     
  6. Viking1

    Viking1 Highly Unstable

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2000
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    0
    D3D does not use S3TC.

    The skating thing WILL go away when you go back to the old textures. In D3D the nice textures you see are probably because you have detail textures on, the textures that you see now will not change when you go back to the regular textures if you leave your settings the same.
     
  7. Crager

    Crager Ahh...just a player here

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2000
    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    0
    This was part of the post on the epic site:

    "The new D3D renderer uses DirectX8 which should result in improved performance due to improved texture management. It also now supports the DXT1 compressed textures from the 2nd UT CD."
     
  8. Falcon IceHole

    Falcon IceHole New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, thanks Viking, for the replys. I am going to give it a try, and install the cd1 textures.

    I don't want to go to Dx8 quite yet, I will wait untill ver 8.01 or 8a or whatever.
     

Share This Page