Help in the name of SCIENCE!

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Dr Zeus

Apr 25, 2010
Hello - my name is Zeus Simeoni, I'm a researcher in the Comm. Sci. Department at the University of Connecticut. I'm currently studying video game enjoyment and violence, and I could use some help or sage advice.

I am in dire need of a UT2004 mutator, but needless to say, since this game is so dated, even basic documentation on how to construct a mutator, or which mutators are available (or what they do) seems nearly impossible to find. I'm a gamer geek myself, but I've just never gotten into FPS games, so I'm afraid I don't even know the lingo of what to look for.

For the purposes of my next study, I need a "tag" mutator. The purpose is to eliminate any violence in the game - so as soon as a bullet hits someone, they respawn with no graphics. No death animations, nothing. Instant respawn. This will then be compared to a "high" violence scenario, which is basically the normal game, as the death effects are pretty easy to see.

I'll be mixing the two violence levels with something else during the study, and essentially trying to find that whether a video game such as this has no theraputic effect if the violence is minimized.

I'm asking for whatever you can give me - perhaps you already know of a "tag" type mutator, and just point me in the right direction, certain search words, etc. Perhaps you know of a place to go for a mutator creation tutorial. Whatever help you can offer, I would be very appreciative.