1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Heavily Customizing Bots

Discussion in 'Original Unreal Tournament' started by mnb, Sep 30, 2000.

  1. mnb

    mnb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2000
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got the basics of customizing UT bots down, but I'm stuck trying to get something going.

    What I've done is rename a bunch of bots after some of the, shall we say, less than popular executives at the company I work for. :)

    I want all of those bots to only join one specific team in CTF. I edited the team setting for each bot in User.ini to 0 (red). However, when playing the game, the bots join either team. They tend to join red more, but not exclusively.

    Of course, we want the morons in management to be on the OTHER team. No one would be caught DEAD with that COO on THEIR side! Any suggestions, URLs, magic runes, etc any of you might have that would help me out would do wonders for my stress management project in UT bot customization. :D
     
  2. A_Huge_Sweaty_Baboon

    A_Huge_Sweaty_Baboon The Baboon... HAS.... SPOKEN

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2000
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmmmmmm

    youre probably doin everything right.
    I have no idea how to do thhat, but maybe you have "balance teams" on in the game settings.
    Maybe
     
  3. soyrico

    soyrico New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2000
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I may be wrong, but I thought that if the "randomize" checkbox was clear you would get the same bots in order each time.

    Thanks

    Jim
    bodkins@prologic.com
     
  4. Krypton|BuF

    Krypton|BuF Still g00 gun lovin' !

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 1999
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Simply un-check the "balance teams" checkbox.

    What the "random order" box does is the following:

    if you start a game with 5 bots, the first five bots will be used. (bot1, bot2.... bot5 in the bot configuration menu)

    now check the random order box: and five bots will be selected randomly out of all your 32 bots (but only if you use the newer patches. original UT and older patches only randomly select out of the 16 first bots...)
     
  5. Insecta

    Insecta Insectacidal

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2000
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried this with some of the, uh, never mind. The goverment need no more fuel.

    Does colouring teams work?
     
  6. mnb

    mnb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2000
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    team colouring

    unchecking balance teams seems to help somewhat on properly distributing the bots to the correct team, but it is still putting blue bots on the red team and vice versa.

    It appears bot team designation is not functional. :(
     
  7. Hetemti

    Hetemti Bargain Brand Being

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried setting up custom teams for the bots...didn't work.

    So, I gave up and instead gave them all names of real and ficticious people, and skins, models, skill ratings, and voice packs to match. Knowing a bot is headed for a sniper rifle is one thing; knowing that if you don't get the heck out of there he'll spin around and cap you in the head because he has 100% on Alertness and Aiming is quite another. :D
     
  8. Nemephosis

    Nemephosis Earning my Infrequent Flier miles

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    7,701
    Likes Received:
    2
    Alls ya do is uncheck Balance Teams, and uncheck Random. Then set them all to Red, you on Blue, pick the number you wanna square off against and you're good to go. I'm always doing a 4-1 or 5-1 CTF game so I know what to do here. I have even tried 14 on 2 Team Last Man Standing (ask Mrukk, Soup_Wombat or Bishop_ASJ what that's like. It's great fun!) :D
     
  9. BishopASJ

    BishopASJ Before the "consoles", there was Atari

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2000
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    heh heh heh...14,000ping heh heh heh

    It was a good time, 2 on 14, but I would have like a better ping. that's what I get for having cable and connecting to a 56ker...
     
  10. Robo-Junkie

    Robo-Junkie Ghost of Robo-Past

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    geez.

    Just go into the bots tab, click randomize bots, do the configure bots & set all the idiots on one team & then all of your bots on the other color. uncheck randomize bots, make sure you're on the right color & start the frickin' game! :D
     

Share This Page