1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Getting a new mouse, Logitech G5

Discussion in 'Hardware, Software & Troubleshooting' started by Helgso, Jul 3, 2008.

  1. naisanza

    naisanza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    the size of the G9 looks to be close to the G5. And i dont think i would be able to stand the fact there there are about 20 different places for gunk to accumulate, like dead skin.. and other stuff.
     
  2. Sir_Brizz

    Sir_Brizz Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2000
    Messages:
    25,995
    Likes Received:
    75
    I've actually found that less gunk acquires on this mouse than my old MX510 and previous mice I've had like the Copperhead and the Logitech iFeel Mouseman. Plus, the covers are removable and other than around the actual buttons it is very easy to clean if it starts to build up.

    So I guess I'd say it's the least gunky Logitech mouse I've ever owned for sure :)
     
  3. ShakeZula

    ShakeZula New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's a known and proven issue. if you move any optical/laser mouse at a certain speed, it will malfunction. this is the nature of the technology. the quality of the sensor/laser determines where this threshold lies. for most mice this threshold is above anything that will be attained in normal use, however with the G5 it is 1.3m/sec. although this speed will not be attained by the vast majority of users, those with a low enough sensitivity (requiring very fast sweeps to turn quickly) will hit it
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2008
  4. Zur

    Zur surrealistic mad cow

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    11,702
    Likes Received:
    4
    I rma'd a G5 once because the led was switching off. They sent me another more recent one. The same thing happened with it. I suspect there's some issue with the cable or the connector to the logic circuit inside.
     
  5. naisanza

    naisanza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    you sir, have a line of bad luck
     
  6. ShakeZula

    ShakeZula New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    0
    wtf. how far do you think 1.3m is? swing your arm round in an arc in front of you, that's probably about the right distance. if it takes you more than even half a second you have some serious physical issues

    and where the hell are you getting that data on the intelli? its malfunction speed is 2.1m/s, or 83"/s
     

Share This Page