1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

First parameter in spawn() function?

Discussion in 'Programming' started by {WE}Blue, Feb 17, 2006.

  1. {WE}Blue

    {WE}Blue New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is it supposed to be?

    I looked at http://udn.epicgames.com/Two/ActorFunctions#Spawn but i don't understand what the first parameter is supposed to be, there's no explaination.

    Could someone just give me a couple examples of use of this function with all the optional parameters filled in?

    Oh and as far as the context is concerned, I'm trying to spawn actor.navigationpoint.flagbase

    i know this is a n00b question but please forgive me thanks
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2006
  2. Sir_Brizz

    Sir_Brizz Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2000
    Messages:
    25,970
    Likes Received:
    66
  3. {WE}Blue

    {WE}Blue New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Sir_Brizz

    Sir_Brizz Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2000
    Messages:
    25,970
    Likes Received:
    66
    I couldn't say exactly... I'm guessing something like:

    myFlagBase = Spawn(class'x[Blue][Red]FlagBase',,,Location,Rotation);
     
  5. {WE}Blue

    {WE}Blue New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i just want it to be added to the map as soon as the map loads.

    So first I run a conditional to check if the map is DM-Turbine

    If the conditional is true, then it adds a red flag at loacation (-1520,-111,-192) and a blue flag at location (1215,-128,-79) with yaw pitch and roll all 0.

    and can i just put this code in my gametype.uc class? I want the whole mod to only have 1 .u file.

    oh and i should remind that this is for UT99

    sorry i'm a total n00b
     
  6. Sir_Brizz

    Sir_Brizz Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2000
    Messages:
    25,970
    Likes Received:
    66
    :lol: knowing it is for UT99 would have been helpful :)
     

Share This Page