1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

First model and assistance requested

Discussion in 'Work in Progress and Pimps' started by The Mad Cartographer, Feb 5, 2005.

  1. The Mad Cartographer

    The Mad Cartographer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Attached image will show you my problem :p
    I also need to know if it's too high poly, it's over 8000 polys triangulated.
    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Zenodey

    Zenodey Formally known as mutt

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    DUDE THAT IS PWNAGE Though i don't like all those square things
     
  3. Vailias

    Vailias New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its a bit high yes, but not out of spec. :) as long as there arent 100 of them running around you should be fine.
     
  4. klasnic

    klasnic ra ra rat Putin!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nice, Cart but I'm not sure about the polycount - I think the editor will take it though I recently had to export a model from Max and use Milkshape to get a v. high poly model down to 4,000 in the Ed and needless to say it took forever to do it ;)

    Be watching the progress :)
     
  5. Zenodey

    Zenodey Formally known as mutt

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Take most of those square thingy's polys and do somthin to those leg joints i don't like the 2 little thin things :rolleyes:
     
  6. The Mad Cartographer

    The Mad Cartographer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    You'd better be thankful for that level of unrealism. :p
    I have something worse in line :D
     
  7. klasnic

    klasnic ra ra rat Putin!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    :lol: Look forward to it :tup:
     
  8. The Mad Cartographer

    The Mad Cartographer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got a head for it and I'm having trouble getting it into uPaint to texture. I know I'm misssing some step somewhere, but I can get it into the game, but uPaint can't open it to texture.

    Help a n00b? :)
     
  9. CheapAlert

    CheapAlert ONSLOTFEST '94 FOREVER

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it even UV unwrapped? :p
     
  10. The Mad Cartographer

    The Mad Cartographer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not yet, I'm testing with a vehicle I made a little while ago, can't get that into upaint either.
     
  11. Death Dream

    Death Dream Sadistic Loser

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maya ple isnt compable with Upaint. so you gona have to stick with a UV snapshots and edit it in photoshop or ne type of program like photoshop.

    ~Death Dream~
     
  12. The Mad Cartographer

    The Mad Cartographer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well that's beyond gay.
    Why would they show you how to do something in a program you can't use anyway? The tutorials I have use Maya to model and Upain to texture, and they never said you can't use Upaint.
    If I can't get it to work I'm not going to bother finishing the model, it'll take me a year to get it right, I leave home in less than 9 months for another college.
     
  13. klasnic

    klasnic ra ra rat Putin!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm sure it is possible to skin it in Upaint... You just need to uvmap and unwrap in maya and export the .psk mesh and textures into upaint to skin it from there. Personally I found Maya much harder than 3DStudio to model though so I can't really help you with that prog - sorry :(

    :)
     
  14. Death Dream

    Death Dream Sadistic Loser

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like and use maya 6.0 my self. how i texture my stuff is i open the UV editor and take a uv snap shot and edit it in Photoshop. Its really not that big of a pain seeing on how i dont like to use Upaint unless i need to find something (i find upain only good for marking and finding were stuff is located). But i guess thats just me :)

    If you dont now how to take a uv snapshot just ask

    ~Death Dream~
     

Share This Page