1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

export question

Discussion in 'Modeling & Skinning' started by gorgon, Apr 24, 2004.

  1. gorgon

    gorgon New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am looking for tutorials on exporting from Maya PLE to 2004. Can some one point me in the right direction. Thx.
     
  2. conscripted

    conscripted New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    pointing at www.3dbuzz.com

    theres video tuts on exactly this, very good ones at that
     
  3. gorgon

    gorgon New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, I know they have LOTS of info for free on 2003, but I dont have 2004 spec ed and I cant find anything on exporting from Maya 5 to 2004.
     
  4. [SAS]Solid Snake

    [SAS]Solid Snake New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    0
    UDN, http://udn.epicgames.com

    In short you will need a tool called ActorX for Skeletal Meshes and I have no idea what you do with Maya to export static meshes. Also importing/exporting models for UT2004 is the same as UT2003. It hasn't changed.
     
  5. chip

    chip New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    you don't need UT2004 SE to get the basic exporting process info -- it's in the help files of Maya 5 PLE when the new unEditor plugin gets installed, under Help>UT2004 Exports.

    the plugin (and Maya 5 PLE, if you need it) is on CD6, the Play Disk. not sure of its location in the DVD edition, but you don't have that, right? just follow the installation instructions & you should be good to go.

    and just for clarity, if you're using PLE make sure you state that in all your posts, as the export process for the retail Maya uses different software (hence Snake's reply re: ActorX).
     
  6. gorgon

    gorgon New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Chip, thx. I used Mozilla as my web browser which would not open the page for the export help, so I installed IE and it pulls it up fine.

    Duley noted about accuracy in my posts. I try to remember the importance of stating everything, everytime.
     

Share This Page