Creating complex AI

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Pellaeon

Oct 27, 2003
Virginia, USA
I am a college student and one of my professors and I are thinking of doing an AI project using the Runtime. I have not seen much about AI though, so I am wondering what other people have done. I understand the "bots" are already written, but can the Runtime be used (with scripted events or whatever) to create more complex AI so the bots interact with the environment and can make informed decisions? That is, can we make a "bot" that will activly hunt down the user, or one that effectivly patrols an area or something?

Thanks!

Yep, can be done :) actualy you can do anything you want in the runtime (well the licence forbits you to do certain things)

But the unreal engine comes with some nice pathfinding functions, and a large bunch of native events (when it bumps into something, when it sees something, when ... it falls.... and alot of other stuff)

But with the runtime you'll have to code if from scratch.

Pellaeon

Oct 27, 2003
Virginia, USA
Daid303 said:
Yep, can be done :) ... But with the runtime you'll have to code if from scratch.

I see... so how hard would "coding from scratch" be? This would be a semester-long project, so I'd have lots of time, but since I'd need to learn how to use the program and such, I just wonder how much of a pain it would be.