Complete Noob Investing Questions

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Twisted Metal

Anfractuous Aluminum
Jul 28, 2001
Long Island, NY
Anyone good with investing here? I know absolutely nothing about it but I have about 40k sitting in my bank making 0 interest. I think it's time I start investing.

So riddle me this. You have a company like Take Two Interactive which happens to be releasing one of the most anticipated games ever (GTA V), guaranteed to sell millions.

Maybe this is a ridiculous thought, but can't I just drop like 20k on their stock and then sell when the share price spikes on release day? Or is it not that simple (I'm sure it's not, or everyone would do that...)?

TWD

Cute and Cuddly
Aug 2, 2000
Salt Lake City UT
members.lycos.co.uk
You can buy or sell whenever you want assuming the market has enough supply/demand at that price. You could even use options to control your risk. But you should probably practice with fake money first using a demo account, and when you do start trading you should risk as little as possible at first.

I can't give any advise on any specific stock or strategy so I can't say if it would work. Just don't blow thousands on something unless you know what you are doing. Cramer's mad 4 life would be a good read here.

Last edited:

Twrecks

Spectacularly Lucky
Mar 6, 2000
In Luxury
www.twrecks.info