1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Can I change default "Box Character"???

Discussion in 'Level Design, Skinning and Modelling' started by TheArtfulDodger, Dec 11, 2003.

  1. TheArtfulDodger

    TheArtfulDodger New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd like to make some generic people for the Runtime Engine.

    Is it legal?

    Would interacting on the net constitute a game?

    How do I change the default player "Box Character" to my own mesh?
     
  2. [SAS]Solid Snake

    [SAS]Solid Snake New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ask the liscensing department at Epic for that.

    Change the default player which I think it RTPawn to use your mesh.
     
  3. cyberdigitus

    cyberdigitus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    why wouldn't that be legal? in fact, if you look around on the udn site, you can find a runtime version of the udn charactres, wich have pretty detailed skeletons. It seems they're really updating the site often lately.
     
  4. hottoast

    hottoast Art Worker

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    The runtime versions of the UDN characters were done by the Unreal Developers Network, so that if you wanted people running around instead of a box, you could have that (without having to make them yourself).

    I believe that you can replace the UDN models with your own without any legal repercussions.

    - Tom
     
  5. patrickrho

    patrickrho New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    where can i find the runtime version of the example characters?
    Can you post an address?
    and how can i export models that i made with max and/or maya to the Runtime? is it possible to use ActorX?
     
  6. hottoast

    hottoast Art Worker

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, the first part of your question can be found here:

    http://udn.epicgames.com/Technical/MyFirstPawn#Installing_the_Example

    It's a little technical, so be sure to follow the instructions exactly.

    To export your own characters and models to the Runtime build, you can use ActorX with either Max or Maya. If you are just getting started, take a look at this page:

    http://udn.epicgames.com/Content/ModelingTableOfContents

    There is a link in that document that links to ActorX pages for Max and Maya, since the process is slightly different for each of those programs.

    -Tom
     
  7. afecelis

    afecelis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got the boy character to work ok but now the game is defaulted to third person view. I know hitting "b" is the default to switch person views but how can I default it back to first person (without loosing the boy character).?
     
  8. hottoast

    hottoast Art Worker

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    easy peasy

    To make this change, you'll need to look at the source code and make a change, then recompile. My programmers tell me that this is a trivial change (if you're a coder). Take a look at this page for a complete description:

    http://udn.epicgames.com/Technical/MyFirstPawn#PointOfView

    Good luck!

    Tom
     
  9. afecelis

    afecelis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank hottoast!

    When you say "compile" you mean you gotta have the source to the engine or you mean just in terms of unreal script?

    thanx for the help
     
  10. hottoast

    hottoast Art Worker

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    You just need the script.

    tom
     
  11. afecelis

    afecelis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which file and which line shall I modify before compiling?
     
  12. afecelis

    afecelis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I read the article carefully and got what you meant. But even changing "bStartBehindView" to false in examplepawn.uc and compiling won't make it start in first person. What else needs to be done?
     
  13. hottoast

    hottoast Art Worker

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Odd, that should be all you need to do. Are you sure you're compiling correctly and using the recompiled files?

    Tom
     
  14. afecelis

    afecelis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, I'm doing the regular "ucc make" compiling and I get all the files compiled in release mode ok. Success, 0 errors, 0 warnings.
    The newly compiled files are stored somewhere else besides "system"?
     

Share This Page