1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

BuyMenu, Again !!!

Discussion in 'Programming' started by Supremacy, Aug 22, 2003.

  1. Supremacy

    Supremacy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    found out how to make a BuyMenu GUI ???
    wich responds with a key (for example: "V") :)
    and then it pops up and shows weapons and other items.

    if anyone got a complete buy-system i would send him/her money for it :/
     
  2. clam

    clam New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0

    ****, i'd MAKE one for you for money ;\
     
  3. Wormbo

    Wormbo Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    5,910
    Likes Received:
    35
    Is this a request for others to do this for you? :con: In that case the Mod Recruitment forum might be a better place...
     
  4. BlackHornet

    BlackHornet Global Warzone Project Leader

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    BuyMenu is simple GUIPage opened within an exec functionin your playcontroller class.
    Then build up the GUIpage......should it be react on key strokes?...then define KeyEvents (or keytypes...im not sure what exactly). after all those things (spawn a copy of your item,give it to the player and substract the money from his playerreplicationinfo...i suggest to define the money there)

    it isnt as difficult as it seems to be (instead of the grafiks;))

    if you have more questions.....we are all in here :p
     
  5. Supremacy

    Supremacy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    i didn't find the keyevents / keytypes ...
     
  6. Konma

    Konma Have u ever seen the truth?

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    just open other gui pages from standard ut and u can see how it works.
     
  7. Supremacy

    Supremacy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, but how to get the new guipage displayed ?
     
  8. RegularX

    RegularX Master of Dagoth Lies

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2000
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Create an exec off your controller that does an open page. Look at the code that opens the MidGameMenu for some samples. Then create a keybind for that exec, or if you want to get fancy on it - a key interaction.


    For example, the modified ShowMenu in riftwar:
    Code:
    exec function ShowMenu()
    {
    	// Pause if not already
    	if(Level.Pauser == None)
    		SetPause(true);
    
    	StopForceFeedback();  // jdf - no way to pause feedback
    
    	// Open menu
    	ClientOpenMenu("SpeciesBattle.SBMidGameMenu");
    }
    
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2003
  9. Supremacy

    Supremacy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    i made it, even b4
    but then came an error something about exec stuff

    ClientOpenMenu("TacStr.TS_MidGameMenu.uc");

    thats what i did and an error about exec stuff apeared.


    EDIT: this is the message:

    TacStr is not a DLL package; can't find export 'intATS_PlayerConrollerexecSetNetSpeed'
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2003
  10. RegularX

    RegularX Master of Dagoth Lies

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2000
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Code:
    ClientOpenMenu("TacStr.TS_MidGameMenu.uc");
    
    Probably because your are referring to a file rather than a class ... try dropping the .uc
     
  11. Supremacy

    Supremacy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    what means dropping the .uc ?
     
  12. Supremacy

    Supremacy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    i copied the original PlayerController.uc and put it in my code dir and then i renamed that file to TS_PlayerController.uc and named the class right.
    and then i made this little code line:

    ClientOpenMenu("TacStr.TS_MidGameMenu.uc");

    instead of

    ClientOpenMenu("Xinterface.UT2MidGameMenu");
     
  13. RegularX

    RegularX Master of Dagoth Lies

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2000
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...and did that work?
     
  14. Supremacy

    Supremacy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    hell no :/
    the error i posted before appeared
     
  15. RegularX

    RegularX Master of Dagoth Lies

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2000
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry, I misread

    You have - ClientOpenMenu("TacStr.TS_MidGameMenu.uc");

    You need (I think) -
    ClientOpenMenu("TacStr.TS_MidGameMenu");

    No ".uc"
     
  16. SoSilencer

    SoSilencer Harry Goz (1932 - 2003)

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Totally man, for like $15 an hour I'd make an awsome buy system for you. Hell, maybe I'll just make a universal buy menu system and sell it (I bet this is against the EULA though, damnit).
     
  17. Euphoric Beaver

    Euphoric Beaver impeccably groomed

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2001
    Messages:
    3,158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeh then once you've sold it, add it to the wiki. \o/
     
  18. Supremacy

    Supremacy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah its without .uc sorry i posted this mistake but the code is without .uc




    @SoSilencer:
    if you need 1-2 hours for it (a tiny buymenu is enough, without pictures and stuff) then you are my worker and i pay :)

    PM me
     
  19. RegularX

    RegularX Master of Dagoth Lies

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2000
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    It sounds like you have a compile error causing your package to implode. Either in your PC or the GUIPage itself. Can't tell from your posts if you are getting this error during the build or when you try the exec. If it's during the build, it's probably a syntax error in your PC. If it's not, it might in your GUIPage. Try swapping out your GP with MidGameMenu to see if that's true.

    You'll have to post more code for debugging if that fails you.
     
  20. -=[MAD]=-Hmpf

    -=[MAD]=-Hmpf New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's something you shouldn't do.
    You don't need to copy that whole stuff...
    just make a subclass of PlayerController instead.

    You should familiarize yourself with the principles of OOP before attempting to write a mod with buy menus and stuff.
    Unreal Wiki - OOP Overview


    trust me...
    even if you get your buymenu working, you'll never finish your mod if you're not willing to learn the basics. (or if you're to lazy to write it yourself!)
     

Share This Page