1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Brain Twister for you all... Maybe Win a date with Spooger! HA!

Discussion in 'Infiltration Development' started by Spooge, Oct 14, 2001.

  1. keek

    keek mapper

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2000
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oops :).... hmm..ehh.... I have a really slow internet connection!;)
     
  2. keek

    keek mapper

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2000
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now that I'm finally up to speed.... I understand that on that beautifull path Spooge made the different polys are not merged... so doesn't that give ugly lighting? Like shadows at the edges where you don't want them... or set the surface to bBrightCorners=true and you don't have shadows at the edges where you want 'm.
     
  3. DeadEyeNick

    DeadEyeNick New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    welcome back Bastard'O! :D
     
  4. phatcat

    phatcat akward cat

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    9,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    *sigh*
    ok,I layred the first image onto the second and adjusted the layer transparacny. doing this I found out somethign I suspected.

    the hint is that its using Tris insteasd of quads. this would allow you to shift a texture on two parts of one quad face.

    I highlighted a peice of the image. and added a dviding line to show where the quad is devided by the two tris (right hand cornner)

    now if you look you can see the texture is not one. its 2 sections, and forms a VERY obtuse angle from on another!! (figure in upper left hand cornner)

    so, did I get it??
     
  5. WhackZero

    WhackZero whack0

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2000
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    phatcat

    you got that part right, but i think spooge is asking us how he did that, not what he did:p
     
  6. LoTekK

    LoTekK Peon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    umm... don't you read the thread? :D ;)
     
  7. Spooge

    Spooge Digital Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2000
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    0
    Keek - "I really didn't know this kind of texture scaling can be done in UT, or even in 3dsmax, but I'm no wizard at that. If you know how, please explain how to do it in 3dsmax!"

    Try this in MAX Keek...

    1- Select Path Spline
    2- Go to the Create/Geometry Tab
    3- Change the dropdown menu to Compound Objects
    4- Choose Loft
    5- Choose Get Shape Button
    6- Select the Shape Spline
    7- Under Skin Parameters area set the Shape Steps to 0 and the Path steps to maybe 7 or 8.
    [​IMG]



    Now just assign a texture and set the Diffuse texture's U and V tile, to like maybe 4.
    [​IMG]



    You can Download a practice file, (the one I used to create the MAX Arche) here...

    MAX 3 Version http://web.ntown.net/~marklarsen/dano/MAX3ARCH.ZIP


    MAX 4 Version http://web.ntown.net/~marklarsen/dano/MAX4ARCH.ZIP


    This can be done with most any two splines (one for the path and one for the shape). It's a breeze.



    Keek again - "I think I'll do another guess, you won't fool me this time! I've seen the Matrix! We have to realise the truth.... there is no texture. Then you'll see it's not the texture that bends, but yourself!"

    Ummm.... you Bucked up Fig time, you must have taken BOTH pills.
    :D


    Keek once again - "... so doesn't that give ugly lighting? Like shadows at the edges where you don't want them"

    And yes, it's one of the trade offs... sux but you are correct.


    phatcat... And yes, as you have pointed out, the 3 sided polys do some odd things to the texture alignment, but this is just something we have to live with, some distortion is going to take place when geometry is created as a quad and converted to a 3 sided poly.
    So it's a good observation, but not an answer to the real question. How do we get from a modeling application like Maya or MAX into Unreal with the texture coords intact? DXF is not the answer.
     
  8. LoTekK

    LoTekK Peon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    /me envies all of you with maya, bryce, max, etc... :hmm:
     
  9. Starstreams

    Starstreams New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. BlAcK_PlAgUe22

    BlAcK_PlAgUe22 I ooze.

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,423
    Likes Received:
    0
    /me too

    Although i've been using gmax recently, its like a watered down version of 3ds max :)

    And i already know you cant import into UED with it :(

    (Edit: And just out of curiosity, what formats does UED recgonize?)
     
  11. Akuma

    Akuma Deacon Massif

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2000
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    0
    lofted mapping is great (until you alter the brush and lose it :mad: )

    Unreal Tools is a MAX script EA whipped up for Undying that allows you to import/export to max in t3d format, avoiding the problems associated with importing as Dxf and allowing you to retain texture co-ordinates and lighting info. Handy!

    Hopefully they'll release them to the public soon, but don't hold your breath.

    Oh, I give up I have no idea how you did that :)
     
  12. das_ben

    das_ben Concerned.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,878
    Likes Received:
    0
    i replied next to spooge and akuma... i'll never wash myself again! :D
     
  13. Spooge

    Spooge Digital Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2000
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    0
    Starstreams... I only wish that tool set worked with MAX also... it's a Maya only tool... *sigh* And I have yet to try it in Maya, but I will.


    BlAcK_PlAgUe22 - "(Edit: And just out of curiosity, what formats does UED recgonize?)"

    You can open/import: UNR, T3D, DXF, U3D and ASC... The only one of those that can be Exported directly from MAX and call a texture is the ASC format BUT it does not retain the texture alignment (DAMNIT!!).
    MAX also writes the ASE file format and it DOES in fact retain everything needed for a smooth transition... but we have no support in the current Unreal using that format.


    @kuma... thanks for the info, it looks sweet! I will not hold my breath... but I will look for it's release!


    -reaper- lol... duder?!? heh:p
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2001
  14. WhackZero

    WhackZero whack0

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2000
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    impossible for everyone else but spooge?

    ok....i'm gettin the idea here that t3d is the answer.... but since max doesnt support this file export, then either spooge used another 3d program or he's got this t3d export tool for max.... something i dont have. if you do have one....um....mind if you share? :D
     
  15. WhackZero

    WhackZero whack0

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2000
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    alpha9 might know the answer....

    looks like he got the texture to curve along the road in the map posted on the front page..... (cool lookin map, btw)
     
  16. Starstreams

    Starstreams New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think Spooge is actually working for the gods and he has preformed some kind of magic :D
     
  17. WhackZero

    WhackZero whack0

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2000
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    he must be....

    :rolleyes:
     
  18. BlAcK_PlAgUe22

    BlAcK_PlAgUe22 I ooze.

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Spooger, are you using the HEIDI renderer or OGL/D3D?

    When i set it to one window, it looks wierd :hmm:
     
  19. Spooge

    Spooge Digital Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2000
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    0
    It pains me to have to do this... :-( Bad news

    How I wish it was true...

    But... I was using an application that is in development and I was hoping that the developer would allow me to facilitate simplified "user" version for the community, a plugin of sorts. That was the plan anyway. It was VETO'ed today. *sigh*:( The California developer decided it would be best to wait to release a tool like this. For what I don't know.

    I'm sorry guys, honestly.

    If you get into a pinch and you need something from MAX converted, ask, I'll see what I can do.
     
  20. LoTekK

    LoTekK Peon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    see??? i knew it!!! spooge's a tease!!! :mad: ;) :D

    sorry to hear about the veto, but hey, ya win some ya lose some... thanks fer giving us a heads-up (tease! :D) about the tool, though... :)
     

Share This Page