1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Beginner Q's

Discussion in 'Programming' started by joninty, Mar 1, 2002.

1. joninty

joninty New Member

Hi,
    I'm a beginner to UR scrioting and I've got a few general Q's.
    I've done a fair bit of backround reading but forgive me if any of this is dumb:

1. If Pawns are Players or AI why does player inherit from object not pawn.

2. The new Scrot debugger, can I open it from Unreal edior or do I have to used the .exe

3.What would be classed as a Dynamic actor?

4. Whats the points of the begin statement for states, why not just start after the bracket?

5. Whats the idea behind the weird angle units?

6.Whats the meaning of the event keyword before what appears to be a function? Does this function get called in responce to any event?

7.Where can I some documenation on the actual engine?

Thanks very much !

2. RegularX

RegularX Master of Dagoth Lies

I can try to help on some:

2: I wouldnt recommend using UED for coding, debugger or no.

4: Some states don't require a BeginState call, so there is the distinction. Same with EndState. If you don't need to process anything at its' beginning/end, they can be omitted

5: God only knows, but my suspicion is that they needed fairly precise rotational math, so a system with a high number of units was created. It's a bit clunky, but it works pretty well when you get used to it.