1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

UE3 - UDK All my Actor Classes are gone!

Discussion in 'Programming' started by larafan25, Jan 28, 2011.

  1. larafan25

    larafan25 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did this...

    http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/How_to_Make_an_Inventory

    Nice little tutorial for creating an inventory.

    Now I have no actor classes.

    The first few times I complied it there were errors and warnings, lines saying that deleting certain things did not work out, then saving failed.

    Then I thought maybe for some miraculous reason this issue was connected to the message I got when starting the editor. I had previously copied a folder named "Maps" into the "Maps" folder, this folder obviously had all the same maps in it. The error message would read something about androgynous stuff related to the map, I'd get a message for each map.

    So out of a desperate act to fix something I deleted all the copied maps and as a result I did not get the error message and when I compiled that thing (excuse my lack of terms) for my inventory nothing failed and there were no warnings, it was a complete success.

    Until of course I entered the editor and found that I have no actor classes.

    I've gone into the browser and changed the filter for how the actor classes are displayed, I can now see them all, however they are gray and I cannot do anything with them. They only appear when I uncheck the check-box "Placeable Classes Only".

    I do however realize this tutorial is for UT3 and not UDK, however I thought I did a good job of figuring out what was where with the UDK version.

    So does anyone know what the problem could be?:)
     
  2. larafan25

    larafan25 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Totally gone guys. >.>

    I even tried reversing what I had done, then when I searched for a specific line of code in the ConText file I could not find it.
     
  3. Angel_Mapper

    Angel_Mapper Goooooooats

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2001
    Messages:
    3,532
    Likes Received:
    3
    Is there a Manifest.txt file in your Script folder? The editor uses it to populate its Actor browser.
     
  4. larafan25

    larafan25 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you mean the folder I created for my new inventory, or one of the already existing ones? Sorry, I am so bad with this. :/

    edit: Yes I did SEARCH AND FOUND IT IN THE SCRIPT FOLDER.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011

Share This Page