1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Alien skins won't show up in SP teams list?

Discussion in 'General and Off Topic' started by Sahkolihaa, Dec 31, 2004.

  1. Sahkolihaa

    Sahkolihaa Ow...

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, this has been bugging me for the past week now. I've been trying to get some Gen Mo'Kai skins to work in SP so I can have them on my team. I've put Menu="SP" into the .UPL file and that shows them up for MY character, but they don't show up when I make my team. Anything that's human or a 3rd party model works fine.

    Is there any way to get around this, such as copying the mesh for the alien and just re-name it then use BotManager to re-create the ones I want with a different name, but with the same skins? :(

    Thanks to all who read/reply.
     
  2. SaD

    SaD Skincollecting Fanatic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    3,088
    Likes Received:
    1
    Read , but no idea how to solve the problem :( .
     
  3. Sahkolihaa

    Sahkolihaa Ow...

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thank people for reading it even if they don't know how to solve it because they could be doing something better instead of reading my problem.
     
  4. -Tj-

    -Tj- New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not exactly sure what may be causing the problem. My Felina skin shows up just fine in the team selection screen for single player, complete with fee. One thing I have noticed is that if you're using the skin in question they won't show up in the team selection list. So if I were using Felina (any variant) none of the other variants will show up in the list. This could be the source of your problems. I haven't figured it out fully, but I believe it has something to do with the name of the character, so if I have "Felina" selected as my character, "Felina_Red", "Felina_Blue," and so on won't show up in the list.
     
  5. Sahkolihaa

    Sahkolihaa Ow...

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using a totally different model to the ones I want to have on my team.
     
  6. -Tj-

    -Tj- New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you post the .upl? Might make it a little easier to see if anything's wrong.
     
  7. Sahkolihaa

    Sahkolihaa Ow...

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is one of them:

    [Public]
    Player=(DefaultName="Lok",Race="Gen Mo'Kai",Mesh=Aliens.AlienMaleA,species=xGame.SPECIES_Alien,Portrait=Lok.LokPortrait,Text=XPlayers.Lok,Sex=Male,Menu="SP",FavoriteWeapon=xWeapons.ShockRifle,BodySkin=Lok.LokBody,FaceSkin=Lok.LokHead,StrafingAbility=1.0)
     
  8. -Tj-

    -Tj- New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it doesn't work because you don't have a BotUse entry in there. Add "BotUse=1" somewhere in there.

    Also, in mine I have a full list of statistics, where as in your's I only see StrafingAbility. Try including Agressiveness, CombatStyle, Accuracy, ReactionTime, Tactics, Jumpiness, and bJumpy (true/false), if you can, but try adding the BotUse thing first. I'm 99% sure that BotUse being missing is the problem.

    No BotUse = Bots can't use it.
     
  9. Sahkolihaa

    Sahkolihaa Ow...

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, added all of them in, and they still don't show up in the teamlist :(
     
  10. -Tj-

    -Tj- New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    really..??

    Hmm... well, I guess from this end you're out of luck. I have no idea what's wrong. You might try the coding section of the forums, they might have a better idea.

    Sorry dude
     
  11. klasnic

    klasnic ra ra rat Putin!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ahh my first answer in a while - Your team roster can only be ones that are human/mercs (species) it doesn't seem to allow any others. The only way round it is to change the species entry to species=xGame.SPECIES_Merc I know this defeats the whole purpose and I can't even guarantee that'll work. I've been trying to get some custom species I've created to appear in the team roster but as yet haven't had any joy :( Hope that answers :tup:
     
  12. -Tj-

    -Tj- New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll assume this goes for the Egyptian species as well? The Marygold model is set to Egyptian or Merc, depending on the pack you have. Felina is also set to Egyptian and she shows up in the list.
     
  13. Sahkolihaa

    Sahkolihaa Ow...

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried changing the species to Merc, it made them show up but there voices were wrong (when they get hurt and die, sounded like the humans) but if I put them into my team set as Merc, then quit the game and change it back to Alien, there voices are then correct and they will still be in your team (just don't loose them!)
     
  14. klasnic

    klasnic ra ra rat Putin!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah that's the prob they'll have the human voices, etc...

    TJ, the ones that show up in the roster are species - Human, Merc, Egypt and Night. Dunno why Epic don't allow the others.

    The way you got yours to work though, Electrolyte was quite ingenious ;)

    :notworthy:
     
  15. Sahkolihaa

    Sahkolihaa Ow...

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Should put it up as a tip somewhere :D
     
  16. -Tj-

    -Tj- New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  17. klasnic

    klasnic ra ra rat Putin!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Maybe I'm mad but have you tried adding Voice=XGame.AlienMaleVoice or Voice=XGame.AlienFemaleVoice depending on whether it M/F to the .upl entries? Would that actually work as a human species but an Alien voice? Try it anyways you never know ;)
     
  18. -Tj-

    -Tj- New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think that would solve the problem of the grunts and pain sounds the characters make when they get shot. I believe that's solely reliant on the Species. That would certainly make the taunts, acknoledgements, and other spoken dialogue from that character whatever voice you give it.
     
  19. Sahkolihaa

    Sahkolihaa Ow...

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup, that's what happened when I tried it.
     
  20. klasnic

    klasnic ra ra rat Putin!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    So maybe it's a hybrid Alien, lol - you can't win 'em all :D

    Thanks for letting me know :2thumb:
     

Share This Page