Complete Noob Investing Questions

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Twisted Metal

Anfractuous Aluminum
Jul 28, 2001
Long Island, NY
My best investment to date has been IBM. Bought 100 shares at $38/pc, it's now worth $180 a share plus I reinvested the dividends into the stock, so now I have 103 shares.

For $3800, I've made around $18,000. There are a few others too, but I like IBM and think it's a good company.

If I had $40k sitting in a bank, the first thing I would do is take it out and put it in a credit union. You can earn interest on it at-least this way. Take 10k and put it into a high yield, 10 year CD (You can take it out early if you have to have it, but you'll pay a huge fee and may take a loss depending on when you take it out, otherwise, leave it alone and forget about it) This would be a great retirement package to start out with. When the 10 years is up, take all that money and do it again. Reinvest it into another high yield CD. Just keep this going for the next 30/40 years and you may have doubled your money or more. It all depends on what type of CD you buy.