Epic commitment to UT3

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Jrubzjeknf

Registered Coder
Mar 12, 2004
The Netherlands
Instead they made them into gametypes a wider range of people would enjoy. I hated VCTF in 2k4. It was terrible and unbalanced. I hated ONS for much the same reason. Both gametypes are very fun in UT3.

Bloody disagreed.

I have been playing VCTF on UT2004 for more than two years straight, without any long pauzes. Also note I'm not into the competitive community, which simply doesn't interest me.

VCTF in UT2004 is more balanced than UT3. Ok, UT3 is balanced when it comes to weapons and vehicles, but it fails to balance weapons vs vehicles.
Players on foot stand little chance against vehicles when not packing an avril. Wanna stop a manta heading towards you? You can choose between stinger alt and flak primary. Do you have an avril? Just launch it, the lock-on will (almost?) guarantee you the kill.

UT2004 vehicular vs foot battles is much better. The avril's lock-on isn't as reliable, which forces you to think how you'll get the kill the easiest way. If you don't have an avril, you can also shoot the vehicle tactically so it topples over, forcing the enemy player out of its vehicle.
The shock rifle can use alt fire, but especially pri fire, to stop the manta gives in the example above at any range.

I guess this is a result of all the CARNAGE CARNAGE CARNAGE. Every enemy vehicle has to be killed with firepower. In UT2004, people can shoot a vehicle in order to throw it off track or cause it to turn, making the vehicle and/or enemy player a more vulnerable target. In UT3, not. :(

Sijik