News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Off Topic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 6th Jan 2002, 01:06 AM   #1
WildWing
Registered User
 
WildWing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 16th, 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 87
What kind of RAM does the Pentium 4 Motherboard take?

???
WildWing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 01:13 AM   #2
little darlin
Clandestino
 
little darlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 3rd, 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,228
PC800 RDRAM.
little darlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 01:25 AM   #3
hal
Dictator
 
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1998
Location: ------->
Posts: 21,379
Some of the boards can accept DDR SDRAM.

Like this one
__________________
hal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 01:32 AM   #4
BlAcK_PlAgUe22
I ooze.
 
BlAcK_PlAgUe22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 30th, 2001
Location: Irvine, California
Posts: 3,423
Older ones (like mine) take RDRAM; newer ones accept DDR and regular SDRAM too. IMO RDRAM is the only way to go with P4's
__________________
[*SDS*] BlAcK_PlAgUe22
BlAcK_PlAgUe22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 07:43 AM   #5
ZenPirate
Living Legend (and moderator)
 
ZenPirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 21st, 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 7,496
[crotchety old man]RDRAM is the devil's tool[/crotchety old man]
ZenPirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 10:46 AM   #6
ViperXL
Great Car
 
ViperXL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 9th, 1999
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 586
RDRam blows and is a lot more expensive, but i dont know how other types work with the P4.

If DDR works well... go buy some... NOW!
__________________
"If you go flying back through time and you see somebody else flying forward
into the future, it's probably best to avoid eye contact." -Jack Handy
ViperXL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 11:26 AM   #7
purice
coon dog
 
purice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 19th, 1999
Posts: 1,297
there are different boards that use different RAM.


rambus boards were the first.
the socket 478 p4t-e is a follow-up from the socket 423 p4t. i've built quite a few systems with it and its performance is pretty damn nice.
http://www.asus.com/mb/socket478/p4t-e/overview.htm

p4 + sdram boards such as the p4b followed. between you and me, they suck. it really shows.
http://www.asus.com.tw/mb/socket478/p4b/overview.htm

VIA was first on the block to offer p4 + 266ddr.
http://www.via.com.tw/jsp/en/products/apollo/P4X266.jsp
intel wasn't very happy with this. SiS released the 645 not too long after with intel's 'blessing'
http://www.tbreak.com/hard/mobo/sis645/page1.html
SiS and VIA are both working on/releasing ddr 333 solutions.

the p4 + ddr boards are quite fast. with the ram clocked at 333 it will only be better.
purice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 12:20 PM   #8
tarquin
design is flawed
 
tarquin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 11th, 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 3,933
they've already brought in a different P4 socket? arg!

Junk advertising in today's paper from Dell says:
"Pentium 4, with 256MB single channel memory (RDRAM)"

What the heck's that?

And as for 333MHz .. which idiot decided to base everything around 33MHz? It's such an unwieldy number! I see DDR at 333 and think 'what the heck is half of that?'
My trick is to convert into thirds of 100: 333 is then 10/3 so half of that is 5/3 = 166.

(how long has DDR333 been around annyway? sheesh I feel out of touch... )
__________________

There's a Jailbreak banner for every map.

<tarquin> great work on the llama hud, Wormbo. I really felt like puking
tarquin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 12:28 PM   #9
purice
coon dog
 
purice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 19th, 1999
Posts: 1,297
ddr333 hasn't been around long at all.
here's some more to chew on:

http://www.extremetech.com/article/0...p%253D4,00.asp
purice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 12:45 PM   #10
I_B_Bangin
habitual line stepper
 
I_B_Bangin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 6th, 2000
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3,427
Rdram is more expensive and probably won't last very long. If crucial won't even carry it, I wouldn't make an investment in a motherboard that requires RDRAM.
__________________


I will preach Heaven and beat the hell out of you!
I_B_Bangin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 12:54 PM   #11
purice
coon dog
 
purice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 19th, 1999
Posts: 1,297
Quote:
Originally posted by I_B_Bangin
Rdram is more expensive and probably won't last very long.
i'm not too sure about that.
http://www.zdnet.com/zdnn/stories/ne...097022,00.html

we'll see what happens when the p4 Northwoods flood the market. if RDRAM is a good performer i'd wager it'll be around for a long time even if it is expensive and the company behind it comes straight from the ninth plane of Hell.
purice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 02:02 PM   #12
LordKhaine
I sing the body electric...
 
LordKhaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 6th, 1999
Location: UK
Posts: 5,636
I recall hearing somewhere that P4 mobos that take DDR ram suck *shrug*


And performance with rdram isnt *bad*, its just more expensive and not *as* good
__________________
~LordKhaine~

All your hidden faces, Your seven veils unfold. Give me forbidden places, All your tales untold.
Give me ever and always, Ever and always, Body and soul
LordKhaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 05:28 PM   #13
tarquin
design is flawed
 
tarquin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct. 11th, 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 3,933
what's happened to the mythical nVidia nForce m0b0?
that was supposed to have GeForce 2MX graphics built-in...
__________________

There's a Jailbreak banner for every map.

<tarquin> great work on the llama hud, Wormbo. I really felt like puking
tarquin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 05:38 PM   #14
purice
coon dog
 
purice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 19th, 1999
Posts: 1,297
here's asus' version:
http://www.asus.com.tw/mb/socketa/a7n266-e/overview.htm
purice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 06:30 PM   #15
DeaJae
taking a month's break
 
Join Date: May. 7th, 2001
Location: England
Posts: 2,883
Quote:
Originally posted by tarquin
what's happened to the mythical nVidia nForce m0b0?
that was supposed to have GeForce 2MX graphics built-in...
they are coming and getting very overhyped the only way ill justify selling or building them is if they came with their own ram block (seperate memory for the chip)
DeaJae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2002, 07:02 PM   #16
purice
coon dog
 
purice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 19th, 1999
Posts: 1,297
here's the MSI flavor:

http://www.hardocp.com/reviews/mainb...msi/k7n420pro/
purice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer