News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13th Dec 1999, 07:42 PM   #1
L_S
.
 
L_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1999
Posts: 5,102
Exclamation

I just want to bind four weapons to one key so that when I hit that key it will rotate throught these four weapons.

------------------
If you have any problems with what I just said then I welcome you to click here.


L_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 1999, 09:51 PM   #2
Zundfolge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec. 13th, 1999
Location: USA
Posts: 5,703
Post

if that's not possible, is there at least some way to drop weapons from the weapons cycle. I'd like to drop the translocator and impact hammer from the next/previous weapon cycle
Zundfolge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 1999, 11:57 PM   #3
prettyh8machine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec. 1st, 1999
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 62
Post

Drop the transloacator?? are you nuts? its one of the best additions to ut... not only does it kick *** for moving around and getting to high places but its an awesome weapon...

Whenever i die and respawn in a game that has trans enabled, i switch from the guns to the locator... telefrags are very nice...

Which brings me to another question, read next post...
prettyh8machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Dec 1999, 12:00 AM   #4
prettyh8machine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec. 1st, 1999
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 62
Question

Has anyone figured out how to make it so that if you have the locator in hand that no weapons picked up will remove it? i.e. i have an unsuspecting sniper sitting there being a campie, im ready to fire the darn telefrager and then a i pick up a weapon, it overrides what i have, makes a loading noise, sniper turns around and ends my day... which could have been all avoided had automatic weapon switch been disabled... but in most cases i want it to switch... so my question is, can you make it so that when your holding the teleporter that nothing interupts?


Also, a real real real nice script would be a beep beep sound, played when a weapon is low on ammo, looking to see isnt always conveniant... and i hate when i go to load 3-4 rockets but only have 2 and end up killing myself... sux...

Programers, we need you! get working! =)
prettyh8machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Dec 1999, 02:04 AM   #5
WiwiJumbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 30th, 1999
Location: Canada
Posts: 31
Post

Well, for the switching of 4 weapons with one button, I think you can do it with some Alias',
It's been a while since I've looked up the way Unreal handles alias', so here goes....

If what I remember how to bind keys in Unreal correctly, this just might work...
Edit your user.ini (For GOD's SAKE, KEEP A BACK UP!) so that the first unused alias' look like this:

Aliases[??]=(Command="switchweapon 1 | set input # Cycle2",Alias=Cycle1)
Aliases[??]=(Command="switchweapon 2 | set input # Cycle3",Alias=Cycle2)
Aliases[??]=(Command="switchweapon 3 | set input # Cycle4",Alias=Cycle3)
Aliases[??]=(Command="switchweapon 4 | set input # Cycle1",Alias=Cycle4)

I believe the "|" symbol means "and" so you'll be switching to your weapon and changing the bind.
Where ?? = The Alias number, # = the key you want to bind too, and change the weapon numbers to how you see fit...

Then scroll down to the # you want and change that so it reads:
#=Cycle1

ACK! Just thought of a problem with this setup (if it even works that is..), the way this works is that if you didn't have Weapon 3 you'd have to press # twice to get to the forth weapon! Perhaps it isn't the best solution.... (Tho' on the bright side, you can't switch to having no weapon..)

I hope this works for you. [img]/~unreal/ubb/html/smile.gif[/img] (I hope this works period!)

For the low ammo warning, it couldn't be too hard for a programmer type to make a mutator which flashes the hud when the ammo is starting to get low... it'd probably be best if it check what color the hud is currently and then flashed the opposite color a few times... You might want to take this to "The Mutation Device" message board (You have to go to The Mutation Device first) and ask around there.

I had an idea for a mutator which changed your hud color depending on the amount of health left... but so far it doesn't seem like anyone else is interested.. :/

Wiwi

"I trust in my abilities, but I want more then they offer"

[This message has been edited by WiwiJumbo (edited 12-14-1999).]
WiwiJumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Dec 1999, 02:19 AM   #6
LaughinA$$a$$in
Headshot!
 
LaughinA$$a$$in's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 3rd, 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 93
Wink

Try this. It's a fairly good tutorial on how to assign aliases. I think it covers exactly what you're looking for.
http://frenchfragfactory.net/ressour...utconfig.shtml

-LA
LaughinA$$a$$in is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Dec 1999, 02:35 AM   #7
WiwiJumbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 30th, 1999
Location: Canada
Posts: 31
Post

Jeeze... you'd think I've posted enough by now.... but no! [img]/~unreal/ubb/html/wink.gif[/img]

PrettyH8Machine I found the answer to your problems, by accident no less.

You want to make it so that other weapons don't take away from your Translocator, well UT provides a way to edit your prefrence of weapons. Just go to the Option -> Weapons screen and drag your translocator higher up on the weapon order... tho be warned, in the middle of a fight if you hit "Best Weapon" you just might switch to the translocator! [img]/~unreal/ubb/html/biggrin.gif[/img]

That's it I'm getting some sleep.. [img]/~unreal/ubb/html/smile.gif[/img]
Wiwi
WiwiJumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Dec 1999, 03:09 AM   #8
prettyh8machine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec. 1st, 1999
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 62
Talking

Yeah i knew that, but dont want to switch to my best weapon as the trans, thats reserved for my redeamers =0
prettyh8machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Dec 1999, 03:25 AM   #9
Stryker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul. 21st, 1999
Location: Colorado Springs, Co, USA
Posts: 80
Exclamation

Just go to the menu and hit the weapons option. In there is a check box that says automaticaly switch weapons. If you take the check out the game will not switch weapons until you tell it to.
Stryker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Dec 1999, 03:25 AM   #10
WiwiJumbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 30th, 1999
Location: Canada
Posts: 31
Post

Well then, your going to have to put it at least one level below a personal tactical nucular device... I can see how that would happen. [img]/~unreal/ubb/html/wink.gif[/img]

Wiwi
(Who can't sleep, damn it!)
WiwiJumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Dec 1999, 04:04 PM   #11
L_S
.
 
L_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1999
Posts: 5,102
Post

Thanks everybody, thanks for the link, I will try these suggestions out and give ya hell if they dont work [img]/~unreal/ubb/html/wink.gif[/img]


If you have any problems with what I just said then I welcome you to click here.


L_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Dec 1999, 04:10 PM   #12
Worst Ping
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec. 9th, 1999
Posts: 62
Post

I wish one of my weapons could be 'the finger'. There are times when I'm gonna die anyways or I'm getting sniped repeatedly as I respawn so I'd like to flip 'em the bird before I die.

OR, if I could moon them, that would also be great. Even better would be shooting a 'redeemer' outta my arse. The alt-fire? Don't even go there [img]/~unreal/ubb/html/wink.gif[/img]
Worst Ping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Dec 1999, 06:18 PM   #13
HuFlungDung
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1999
Posts: 914
Post

In Unreal, we used to be able to bind keys to NeverSwitchOnPickup 1
or NeverSwitchOnPickup 0
One of these turns off the automatic switching of weapons, and the other turns it back on. Probably one could devise an alias that would toggle this function on one key.
I found it frustrating though, to remember which way I had left it. There needs to be a icon (or something) added to the hud to show the status of this.
HuFlungDung is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer