News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Reviews > Nali City > Nali City - Map Making > Level Editing - Advanced

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10th Nov 2001, 01:38 PM   #1
dead clown
self-righteous ****0r
 
dead clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 5th, 2001
Location: ireland
Posts: 120
anyone know why...

...the D3D view in UED is so, well, crap?

it's smoother, faster and gives you a much better idea of what ligthing will look like but for practical purposes it's useless. is there anyway to make it better to use?
__________________
no wonder this clown died, his lungs were full of.... CANDY!!!
dead clown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Nov 2001, 01:52 PM   #2
Hourences
 
Hourences's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 29th, 2000
Location: Belgium/Holland/Sweden
Posts: 5,050
what 3d card ?
it looks like **** on some, mostly older cards, but it should work well on a good strong 3d card, some geforce stuff or so, try new drivers, or dont work in d3d :P
__________________
Hourences is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Nov 2001, 11:10 PM   #3
@kuma
Alienator
 
@kuma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 5th, 2000
Posts: 920
you use d3d?

urgh, its all washed out and fugly

try OpenGL
@kuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Nov 2001, 04:55 AM   #4
Fordy
Masterful
 
Fordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 10th, 2001
Location: York, UK
Posts: 299
Question Fordy

@Kuma...how do you set UnrealED to use opengl instead of software rendering ?
__________________
Fordy

www.planetunreal.com/fordy

Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Nov 2001, 09:02 AM   #5
MrFawn
Registered User
 
MrFawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 25th, 2000
Location: Norway
Posts: 269
yeah how?
__________________
The Pornstar
MrFawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Nov 2001, 01:54 PM   #6
Ulukai
Registered User
 
Ulukai's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 2nd, 2000
Posts: 1,523
If I turn on D3D in the Ed, it's a hellova lot quicker but a hellova lot darker.

And it eventually ends up crashing the editor with a D3D related error once I've playtested a map a few times, asthough DirectX is not liking two DirectDraw device contexts being made by seperate instances of a program (although it really shouldn't matter)
Ulukai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2001, 07:15 AM   #7
Jesco
Registered User
 
Jesco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 7th, 2001
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 605
Re: Fordy

Quote:
Originally posted by Fordy
@Kuma...how do you set UnrealED to use opengl instead of software rendering ?
Hiya bud,

just edit the UT.ini. Replace the software renderer declaration with the opengl one. This way UT thinks OGL = Software.

I don't know the exact modifications, but thats the basic trick
__________________
"Is God a nazi or a criminal?" - Originally posted by laurett
Jesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2001, 03:05 PM   #8
Astyanax
GotoState('Coding');
 
Astyanax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 3rd, 2001
Location: Voor jou een vraag, voor mij een weet.
Posts: 824
Thumbs down

d3d in ued2 makes my system totally freeze up within a minute!
__________________
Code:
 ___________________________________________________________________
/                                                                   \
|   888        8 .d88b.   .d888 8   8 8888   .d88b. 888 8   8   8   |
| ww888ww  .wwd8 8P''Y8   8   8 8b  8 www8   8bwww.  8  8www8   8   |
|  Y888P   8P  8 8    8   8   8 8"8.8    8       Y8  8  8   8   8   |
|   'Y'    'Y888 8    8   'Y888 8  Y8 8888   `Y88P' 888 8   8 88888 |
\___________________________________________________________________/
Astyanax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2001, 03:54 PM   #9
Scorpio911
Animal Muther
 
Scorpio911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 24th, 2001
Location: Weare, NH USA
Posts: 35
Hmmm, that's funny...

...my Unrealed runs like a dream in D3D, and it doesn't crash nearly ever (except when vertex editing of course). Hmm, maybe it has something to do with my little old GeForce3 pal
__________________
http://www.fatalarts.net/
Scorpio911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2001, 03:55 PM   #10
Scorpio911
Animal Muther
 
Scorpio911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 24th, 2001
Location: Weare, NH USA
Posts: 35
Then again...

...back when I had my TNT2 I never had any problems either.
__________________
http://www.fatalarts.net/
Scorpio911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer