News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 2nd Oct 2001, 03:38 PM   #1
fallingcow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 2nd, 2001
Posts: 5
Angry Help!! PlayerStart Actor

I need to figure out how to place a PlayerStart actor. No matter how big I make a room, the log window gives me an "Actor doesn't fit there" warning. It's very hard to make a level without a playerstart.

Here's what i get in the log window:

Cmd: ACTOR ADD CLASS=PlayerStart
Log: addactor
Warning: Actor doesn't fit there

THe place that i'm trying to add this is a hollow cube that is 10000x10000x10000, which i think is big enough for a playerstart; the tutorial said 512 was big enough.

Thanks for any help on this!
fallingcow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Oct 2001, 03:54 PM   #2
Zaphrod
President of the Universe
 
Zaphrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 27th, 2000
Location: Betelgeuse V
Posts: 870
Sounds as if you added the room rather than subtracted it. What color is the wireframe of the cube you placed?
__________________


Inventor of the Pan Galactic Gargle Blaster
Zaphrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Oct 2001, 02:20 PM   #3
fallingcow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 2nd, 2001
Posts: 5
the wireframe in the 3d window are pink , the ones in the other three windows are brown or red
fallingcow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Oct 2001, 03:21 PM   #4
purice
coon dog
 
purice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 19th, 1999
Posts: 1,297
you need to start by subtracting space rather than adding. the world isn't empty, it's full and you need to carve out of it.
you can subtract a huge area and add into it if thats how you're used to things.
don't forget to put a light in there and rebuild.
purice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Oct 2001, 07:03 PM   #5
Zaphrod
President of the Universe
 
Zaphrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 27th, 2000
Location: Betelgeuse V
Posts: 870
Quote:
Originally posted by fallingcow
the wireframe in the 3d window are pink , the ones in the other three windows are brown or red
If the wire frame is red, pink or brown then it is just the builder brush, you havent added or subtracted it yet. you have to hit one of these buttons first. you have to subtract to make a room first otherwise you will be adding a solid brush to a solid.
__________________


Inventor of the Pan Galactic Gargle Blaster
Zaphrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Oct 2001, 09:39 AM   #6
fallingcow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 2nd, 2001
Posts: 5
thanks a lot guys...now bum hunter can finally see the light of day!! mwahahahaha!
fallingcow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Oct 2001, 09:54 AM   #7
fallingcow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 2nd, 2001
Posts: 5
or not... now when i validate the level it says that "Class PlayerPawnExt's parent is out of date" and that the scripts need to be rebuilt...
fallingcow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Oct 2001, 03:20 PM   #8
purice
coon dog
 
purice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 19th, 1999
Posts: 1,297
did you do some playerpawn subclassing you didn't tell us about?
purice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Oct 2001, 03:08 PM   #9
fallingcow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 2nd, 2001
Posts: 5
nope. this is exactly how the program's defaults are... i just got the newest version last week and haven't changed any scripting...
fallingcow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer