News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Unreal Development > Coding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30th Sep 2001, 03:11 PM   #1
navboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 5th, 2001
Location: tornados, Wizard of Oz, 70's rock group, lots of native Americans, etc.
Posts: 340
problems with new gametype

After reading a few tutorials there, i tried to subclass DeathMatchPlus (called it MyGameDebugInfo) and change a few simple things (added a log comment and a subclassed Bot), but i can't quite get it to work. My .int file is:

[Public]
Object=(Name=MyGameDebug.MyGameDebugInfo,Class=Class,MetaClass=Botpack.TournamentGameInfo)
Preferences=(Caption="Debug DeathMatch",Parent="Game Types",Class=MyGameDebug.MyGameDebugInfo,Immediate=True)

Well i get a new entry in the gametypes menu at the bottom of the list, called "DeathMatchPlus", and when i run my map with it, it doesn't call my customized version. Shouldn't it show up as "Debug Deathmatch"?

Then, in Spawnbot i changed the var declaration from type bot to:

local DebugBot NewBot;

and the two lines that spawn the bots to:

NewBot = Spawn(class'MyGameDebug.DebugBot',,,StartSpot.Location,StartSpot.Rotation);

The only thing different in DebugBot is i added a line to FellOutOfTheWorld() to log the bot's location ...

*******************************

Two main problems are i can't normally get it to run my custom subclass of DeathMatchPlus, and then once i got it to run launching out of UED2 (first game only; once i went to Practice Session and started another game it used the normal code), the log showed many errors involving not finding meshes for the bots during Animation calls, plus they were invisible in the game and didn't move around, just stayed in place.

I didn't mess around with PRI's like in the tutorials because i have no changes to make to the standard PRI ... I'm missing something about how all this works i guess. I think it's real close but something is not quite right.
navboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Oct 2001, 12:52 PM   #2
ca
CHiMERiC Grandmaster
 
Join Date: Oct. 11th, 1999
Posts: 84
The menu listing of the game types looks up the string GameName in the GameInfo class instead of referring to the .int file.

defaultproperties
{
GameName="Debug DeathMatch"
}

Log the Login() function or something to make sure you're actually running your gametype. I usually test via the commandline (as loading uwindows is slow):

unrealtournament dm-agony?game=mypkg.mygameinfo

You can always double-check the log file too, as it should show the gametype loaded when it parses the url.
__________________
ca
ray@unrealscript.com
http://www.unrealscript.com/
ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Oct 2001, 05:06 PM   #3
navboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 5th, 2001
Location: tornados, Wizard of Oz, 70's rock group, lots of native Americans, etc.
Posts: 340
ahh i see ... cool.

as far as logging it, i put a log entry in PreBeginPlay() so i could tell when it was or wasn't logging ... It did once from UED2 upon first launch, but never did after that or from UT. That's what i can't figure out, is why is wasn't running ... Well, and also why the bots weren't finding the right meshes to play animations.
navboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Oct 2001, 05:09 PM   #4
Raeled
Feuer Frei!
 
Raeled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 1st, 2001
Location: Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 161
don't know how off hand, but there is a way to choose the botclass you want witout making a new gamemode
Raeled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Oct 2001, 11:13 AM   #5
navboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 5th, 2001
Location: tornados, Wizard of Oz, 70's rock group, lots of native Americans, etc.
Posts: 340
yeah, when the gameinfo approach didn't work, i used my Bot subclass by itself in a package, with this .int file:

[Public]
Object=(Name=DebugBot.DebugBot,Class=Class,MetaClass=Botpack.Bot,Description="DebugBot")

Still, it won't show up in the Bot Configuration menu.
navboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Oct 2001, 09:41 PM   #6
Captain Kewl
I know kewl.
 
Captain Kewl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb. 13th, 2001
Location: IN YOUR HOUSE
Posts: 794
What package is DebugBot in? If it's compiled in with MyGameDebug, as it seems to be as referred to in your gameInfo:

NewBot = Spawn(class'MyGameDebug.DebugBot',,,StartSpot.Location,StartSpot.Rotation);

You'd probably want the int file to say

Object=(Name=MyGameDebug.DebugBot,Class=Class,MetaClass=Botpack.Bot,Description="DebugBot")

Also, make sure Description matches the MenuName defaultproperty of the bot.
Captain Kewl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Oct 2001, 12:01 AM   #7
navboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan. 5th, 2001
Location: tornados, Wizard of Oz, 70's rock group, lots of native Americans, etc.
Posts: 340
Well, when i couldn't get the gametype to work, i made a package called DebugBot with just the Bot subclass in it (also called DebugBot), hence my .int file:

Object=(Name=DebugBot.DebugBot,Class=Class,MetaClass=Botpack.Bot,Description="DebugBot")


However, i was unaware of the MenuName default property and made no changes to it ... Don't know if a mismatch between that and my Description in .int could cause it not to work, but i'll give it a try tomorrow.
navboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer