News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 2nd Dec 1999, 02:40 AM   #1
EASY_Target
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 27th, 1999
Posts: 162
Angry

Using the UT server browser is the most frustrating experience in this game..it takes forever to use because of "freezeups"..it continuously hangs up..the cursor barely "crawls" when used..I thouht Epic had this fixed this problem..well I am dissappointed..they knew about this problem months ago..and it still doesn't work..

Am I entiled to complain? you bet..'cause I am a paying customer! BAH !


.

[This message has been edited by EASY_Target (edited 12-02-1999).]
EASY_Target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Dec 1999, 04:19 PM   #2
L_S
.
 
L_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1999
Posts: 5,102
Post

Now we find out the true reason E_T bought the game....so his rants would be legit [img]/~unreal/ubb/html/wink.gif[/img]

My only complaint about the UT browser is that there isnt a "find a buddy" feature. I like to look for players who are ahead of me in the rankings and its just not possible with the ingame browser.


You got a problem with what I gotta say? Click here please.

L_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Dec 1999, 04:30 PM   #3
bongzilla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 25th, 1999
Posts: 21
Post

I'm not flaming you or nothing, but what the hell are you doing using the UT server browser. I mean yea, sure they should have made it better, but Gamespy is so much better anyway. It's better than the UT server browser ever could be.
bongzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Dec 1999, 04:33 PM   #4
HuFlungDung
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1999
Posts: 914
Post

Did you advance the slider for "GUI mouse speed" (something like that), in your UT preferences, Easy_T?
What I don't like about gamespy is having to shut down the game all the time and restart after selecting a server. Is there some shortcut to bypass doing this?

[This message has been edited by HuFlungDung (edited 12-02-1999).]
HuFlungDung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Dec 1999, 05:00 PM   #5
L_S
.
 
L_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1999
Posts: 5,102
Post

Oh man! Its soooo much nicer to stay completely in the game then to leave and use gamespy. The only thing gamespy has over the ingame browser is the find a player feature I mentioned above. (not a flame just my opinion [img]/~unreal/ubb/html/smile.gif[/img])


You got a problem with what I gotta say? Click here please.

L_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Dec 1999, 05:26 PM   #6
Wingznut PEZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 30th, 1999
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 293
Post

What I do, is use GameSpy to find a server that I want to play on, then enter the IP under the Multiplayer/Open Location tab. That way, I get the best of both worlds. The Open Location feature, also remembers all past IP's, so you just have to enter them once.

I also think that GS refreshes faster, and is more accurate concerning pings. But it seems that the ingame browser shows more servers. Not sure if that's true, though.


Wingznut [PEZ]
ICQ #29598363

[This message has been edited by Wingznut PEZ (edited 12-02-1999).]
Wingznut PEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Dec 1999, 05:50 PM   #7
EASY_Target
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 27th, 1999
Posts: 162
Post

Anyone got a light?.. [img]/~unreal/ubb/html/smile.gif[/img]

I tried Gamespy..but it was looking for some DLL windows file..wouldn't load..(more aggravation) .. MORE STRESS.. AAaaaaaaaAaAAaHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

I think the features in UT browser are cool..and I agree with the buddy list..even if it was Liquid_Sin who mentioned it.

But no kidding..every 30 seconds or so the damm thing freezes up..it is soooo sooo aggravating..it takes up to a minute for it to unfreeze..then it does it again...just to cruise through 3 or 4 servers takes 5 minutes or more..
then when I find a game..it's over in a couple of minutes.

NO SH|T I spend more time looking and logging than I do playing..wtf is wrong with this picture?

EASY_Target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Dec 1999, 10:02 PM   #8
Spaceman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov. 25th, 1999
Posts: 19
Post

Easy use gamespy or http://www.pingtool.com for joining a UT game. I don't know why the browser is locking up for you so I would just say try another method for now.
Spaceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Dec 1999, 06:07 AM   #9
Slaughter
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

In Unreal I used to never have to leave the game while I used Gamespy to switch servers until the patch came out (225 I think) with the UBrowser and it no longer worked. What ever changed is still in the UT codebase. I sent that in as a "bug" way back then, but perhaps the game code is such that it can only respond to the UBrowser now when switching servers.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Dec 1999, 06:51 AM   #10
SchizoidMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul. 21st, 1999
Location: UK
Posts: 13
Post

I found one way seems to help with those freezes is to go into advanced options, networking and lower the connection timeout value.

Might be talking pish, but it seemed to help.
SchizoidMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer