Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Registration is free! Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Home

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Mods > Infiltration > New Version Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15th Sep 2001, 05:15 PM   #1
spm1138
Irony Is
 
spm1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 10th, 2001
Posts: 2,662
Aimpoint for FAMAS?

Just wondering... since the FAMAS is so well suited to CQB (bullpup, high ROF), wouldn't it make sense to include an aimpoint for it?

I'd much rather see an aimpoint than a supressor.

I think it'd help with balance and ensure the FAMAS had a niche.
__________________
spm1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2001, 06:07 PM   #2
Technophile
Look, location works again!
 
Join Date: Oct. 31st, 2000
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 176
I'll vote for an aimpoint. Anything that restricts your field of view less than the frigging carry handle/iron sights of the FAMAS is an improvement!
Technophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2001, 06:33 PM   #3
Gholam
Sergeant (Reserve), IDF
 
Join Date: Jun. 19th, 2001
Location: Rehovot, Israel
Posts: 862
How would you mount one on it though? Is it possible to mount a rail onto carrying handle, and reflex sight onto the rail? With M16, reflex sights are attached to the front of carrying handle and handguards (front sight post instead of handguards with 14.5" barrel M16 and Elbit Falcon sight), but on FA MAS carrying handle goes almost all the way to muzzle...
Gholam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2001, 07:03 PM   #4
Technophile
Look, location works again!
 
Join Date: Oct. 31st, 2000
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 176
I've never seen a FAMAS in real life. Now that that is out front, I wonder if there is a sight available to the French military? I would assume something would attach through the handle like the M16 mounts. Of course you couldn't use the iron sights then but they are useless anyway.
Technophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2001, 07:42 PM   #5
"Sp!ke"
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The FAMAS G2 can (I think) use any NATO standard telescopic sight, but i would rather have a supressor, since the size of the gun in hip position makes it easy to aim anyway....
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2001, 07:55 PM   #6
Gholam
Sergeant (Reserve), IDF
 
Join Date: Jun. 19th, 2001
Location: Rehovot, Israel
Posts: 862
I'm sure it can, would make no sense if it couldn't, but what mount is used? Is the carrying handle detachable M16A3-style? Or is there a rail adaptor that mounts on the carrying handle?
Gholam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2001, 08:09 PM   #7
"Sp!ke"
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
"There small hole in the carrying handle allows the mounting of a
standard length weaver rail. Bridged to allow access of the iron sights.
If I'm not mistaken, a picatinny rail is now available as well. There is
an alternate upper receiver that mounts a powered scope integral to the
carring handle" qouted from somewhere, think this answers your question
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2001, 08:46 PM   #8
spm1138
Irony Is
 
spm1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 10th, 2001
Posts: 2,662
I assume it's somewhat similar to mounting a sight on a fixed carry handle M16. Pictures generally show the scope mounted on top of the carry handle (apparently designed to take any NATO STANAG/standard scope).

I saw some reference to carrying handles with built in scope mounts (http://www.google.com/search?q=cache...AMAS&hl=en</a>).

Someone listed an aimpoint as being among the devices used by the Foreign Legion' commando.

http://www.defense.gouv.fr/terre/equ...amas_cat1g.jpg
__________________

Last edited by spm1138; 15th Sep 2001 at 09:08 PM.
spm1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2001, 10:16 PM   #9
Shrap
Beaver
 
Join Date: Oct. 29th, 2000
Posts: 1,013
Couple more pics ...
Shrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2001, 10:17 PM   #10
Shrap
Beaver
 
Join Date: Oct. 29th, 2000
Posts: 1,013
heh
Shrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2001, 10:19 PM   #11
Gholam
Sergeant (Reserve), IDF
 
Join Date: Jun. 19th, 2001
Location: Rehovot, Israel
Posts: 862
So the scope mounting on FA MAS is effectively copied from M16A1, with the only difference being the rail adapter used. Good to know.
Gholam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2001, 11:58 PM   #12
RAZZ
aka FURY13RT
 
RAZZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 5th, 2001
Location: Well away from populated areas
Posts: 1,495
I vote for reddot over silencer.

without an easier way to aim it, most folks who want silenced will either take the mp5 w/reddot, or the p-90 for their easier to use sites.
__________________
HGF construction Crew
RAZZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Sep 2001, 12:03 AM   #13
Gholam
Sergeant (Reserve), IDF
 
Join Date: Jun. 19th, 2001
Location: Rehovot, Israel
Posts: 862
For reference, IDF tries to equip all infantry soldiers (not just spec ops) with reflex sights (red dots, electronic red dots, aimpoints, whatever you want to call them). Considering that IDF is one of the most active armies in the world, I'd call that a proof of their usefulness
Gholam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Sep 2001, 07:23 AM   #14
jaunty
If you disagree with me, you're wrong.
 
jaunty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 30th, 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,506
I may be wrong (shakken will make sure I never forget it if I am), but I dont think those are FAMAS G2s

The G2 has a "lip" on the end of the foregrip, those ones don't.

How old are the photos?
__________________
Burn Christians, not books.
jaunty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Sep 2001, 10:28 AM   #15
DarkBls
Inf Ex-admin
 
DarkBls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 5th, 2000
Location: France
Posts: 4,551
Talking

Quote:
Originally posted by jaunty
I may be wrong (shakken will make sure I never forget it if I am), but I dont think those are FAMAS G2s

The G2 has a "lip" on the end of the foregrip, those ones don't.

How old are the photos?
Yes those ARE not FMAS G2, because only some part of our army have them (only people I know is navy).

Yes F1 uses AImpoint (specially foreign legion. It is a part of what we called "prefelinisation" of our weapon).

Yes Aimpoint and M203 also can be attached to the G2, but not with the same mounting device.

Yes I would want ont too !
__________________
-------- In Vino Veritas --------

-New to Infiltration? Check out the Official Infiltration FAQ and Member's Infiltration FAQ.
DarkBls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Sep 2001, 02:34 PM   #16
&quot;Sp!ke&quot;
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I may be wrong but isnt the G2 the only one of the FAMAS versions that uses a 3 vent flash suppressor(so it can fire rifle nades)?
And does anybody have a pic of a G2 with M203?
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th Sep 2001, 04:06 PM   #17
DarkBls
Inf Ex-admin
 
DarkBls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 5th, 2000
Location: France
Posts: 4,551
Quote:
Originally posted by "Sp!ke"
I may be wrong but isnt the G2 the only one of the FAMAS versions that uses a 3 vent flash suppressor(so it can fire rifle nades)?
And does anybody have a pic of a G2 with M203?
I don't have any FAMAS+M203 pic

But a FAMAS F1 CAN fire RG.
__________________
-------- In Vino Veritas --------

-New to Infiltration? Check out the Official Infiltration FAQ and Member's Infiltration FAQ.
DarkBls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Sep 2001, 04:30 PM   #18
&quot;Sp!ke&quot;
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
That bit about rifle grenades and FAMAS was ramblings of a tierd spike...

I may be wrong (again) latest variation of the FAMAS - G2, features following changes:
- bipods removed and replaced by conventional sling rings
- barrel grenade launcher removed
- trigger guard extended to cover whole grip
- M203 40mm underbarrel grenade launcher could be installed

needless to say: Iam confused. Some places it says that the f1 is the only one that can use M203 and some says that g2 can fire RGs.

CAN SOMEBODY GIVE ME A COMPLETE SPEC LIST OG THE G2, THANKYOUVERRYMUCH!
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th Sep 2001, 06:58 PM   #19
spm1138
Irony Is
 
spm1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 10th, 2001
Posts: 2,662
I read that the G2 could NOT have an attached M203 (the only FAMAS / m203 pics I can find are of the F1/G1 whatever with the old trigger guard).

[edit:
The foregrip is the problem. It now has a "lip" or something.]
__________________

Last edited by spm1138; 16th Sep 2001 at 07:35 PM.
spm1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Sep 2001, 07:27 PM   #20
RAZZ
aka FURY13RT
 
RAZZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 5th, 2001
Location: Well away from populated areas
Posts: 1,495
it would take a half hour and a machine shop to make a solution.
long as theres a foregrip on the rifle, theres something to attach it to.
__________________
HGF construction Crew
RAZZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer