News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 5th Sep 2001, 10:31 AM   #1
Midnight_Oil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 3rd, 2001
Location: MONTANA, USA
Posts: 3
Unhappy High Ping Rate!!

HELP!! My ping won't stay down low enough to play UT or any of the MODS. I have a 256K Wirless internet connection and it clocks regularly @ 245K download and 100K upload. I have tried adjusting the netspeed in the system console...nothing seems to bring the ping down. My system is a DP 450mhz G4 running OS9.1 with a ATI Rage128 w/16MB vram. CAN ANYONE HELP ME?!
Midnight_Oil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2001, 11:18 AM   #2
el Gato
Has-Been
 
el Gato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 19th, 2000
Location: outside Raleigh NC
Posts: 3,523
Unhappy What kind of pings are you experiencing?

Being wireless, you may victim of poor latency:

Quote:
Originally posted my SimplyCosmic

... there are two components to a connection, that of bandwidth (the amount of data that can be transferred per second) and latency (the time it takes for one packet to travel from server to server, related to ping).

...

A prime example of a broadband connection where you can increase bandwidth while actually decreasing your latency performance are satellite broadband. You can easily get over a Mb/s download, but due to the amount of time for the signal to bounce off a satellite, you will never get a ping less than 400ms.



__________________
el Gato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2001, 11:27 AM   #3
Toolvana
RL hostage
 
Toolvana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 24th, 1999
Location: Satellite of Love
Posts: 1,048
Exactly what kind of wireless connection do you have? I doubt satellite considering you get 100k upload. What are your average pings to a UT server?
Toolvana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2001, 06:12 PM   #4
Rooster
Local Legend
 
Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 4th, 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 5,287
There are plenty of upload Satellite connections now-days.

100kbit would be about right as well.

If it IS satellite, you'll never get a low ping.

If it's just to the local receiving tower - you got a chance.

What kind of Ping ARE you getting?
__________________
"Let every nation know, whether it wishes us well or ill, that we shall pay any price, bear any burden,
meet any hardship, support any friend, oppose any foe, to assure the survival and success of liberty." John F. Kennedy


My Rig(s)
Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2001, 09:23 PM   #5
Midnight_Oil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 3rd, 2001
Location: MONTANA, USA
Posts: 3
Exclamation

My wireless account is not satelite. It goes only a bout a mile to a tower similar to a cellular phone tower. It runs off a 2+ GHZ signal. My PING in UT ranges from 145 which is great, all the way up to 4000. The sad thing is it used to always stay low...now I can't keep a low ping for nothing. I did some packet loss tests using DSL Reports and my ISP has a zero packet loss test every time. Any other questions fellas? (sorry if there are fems responding)
Midnight_Oil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2001, 09:41 PM   #6
Rooster
Local Legend
 
Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 4th, 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 5,287
They may have changed something..

try running tracert's to various places.

Get uotrace - great for figuring where problems lie.
__________________
"Let every nation know, whether it wishes us well or ill, that we shall pay any price, bear any burden,
meet any hardship, support any friend, oppose any foe, to assure the survival and success of liberty." John F. Kennedy


My Rig(s)
Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Sep 2001, 03:23 PM   #7
DeaJae
taking a month's break
 
Join Date: May. 7th, 2001
Location: England
Posts: 2,883
hmm, im suspecting the technology is the same when 56k was first being "consumerized" that the connection is totally dependent on software. what connection is the modems interface? is it USB? check for conflicts with the USB port.
[edit] read post properly and saw Mac-like words.... good chance its USB and totally software controlled.
when you have a software 56k modem, after 20 minutes of UT the sae happens what you described, thats when the modem is becoming too much for the CPU to keep it running. i think the same might be happening to your connection, but im not totally sure because wireless connections here (even tho designed for my area... thank you BT) are never gonna be deployed. [/edit]

/me runs away from mac-like words!
__________________
I SellZ computers naow
Still down, not out.. fighting the creek of life with no paddles.
DeaJae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Sep 2001, 12:11 AM   #8
Midnight_Oil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 3rd, 2001
Location: MONTANA, USA
Posts: 3
The interface that the connection uses is a CAT5 connection between me and the antenae. I have a gigabit card so there should be nothing lacking there...and the protocal for connection to the isp is simply a DCHP Server set-up through TCP/IP. I am starting to think that I just have crappy routings to the servers. Therefore crappy PINGS.
Midnight_Oil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer