News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Off Topic > Hardware, Software & Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 2nd Sep 2001, 11:45 PM   #1
jeffgoss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 2nd, 2001
Posts: 3
UT GOTY Help-wont load

Having big trouble loading GOTY. I get an Assertion failed error when it is almost done loading.
My system:
AMD Duron 800 Mhz
ASUS Motherboard with VIA chipset
128 MB RAM
ATI Rage Pro 128 32MB
Sound built into motherboard
Windows 98
All current drivers
I have tried loading from the CD
I have tried copying to the hard drive and loading from there
I have tried loading in safe mode
I have tried enabling DMA in the cd rom properties.
I had the game loaded before I formatted my hard drive. I had to format when I began getting many invalid page faults while browsing the net-not playing the game.
Any help is much appreciated. Any questions please ask. I am sure I have forgotten something.
I can post the Unreal tournament log file if that would help.
Thanks alot.
Jeff Goss
jeffgoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2001, 12:04 AM   #2
Hellbilly
Fully recovered Ex-Evercrack player
 
Hellbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 6th, 2000
Location: Somewhere in upstate NY
Posts: 90
What does the error say?
__________________
Hellbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2001, 12:39 AM   #3
jeffgoss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 2nd, 2001
Posts: 3
It said Assertion Failed, then shows about half a page of text.
I think I got it though-been working on it for 3 days.
I downloaded the new drivers from VIA-the 4 in 1 drivers came out recently. I loaded them and then tried to load the game-it worked. Not sure if everything is ok yet.
Thanks for the reply. I'll let you know if I still need help.
Jeff.
jeffgoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2001, 03:50 AM   #4
Swedix
Retired from UT2004
 
Swedix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 19th, 2000
Location: In position
Posts: 4,854
When you started UT in safe mode, did you try to disable various settings?
Try to disable all sound.
__________________


Download my filemanager for UT2004, UT2004Mi
Swedix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2001, 11:29 AM   #5
jeffgoss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep. 2nd, 2001
Posts: 3
I didn't disable anything else in safe mode. I got the game loaded and working. Sound was the last thing that I hadn't done anything with. It sure was a frustrating problem. Thanks for the help, this Forum is an excellent resource.
Jeff.
jeffgoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer