Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Registration is free! Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Home

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Mods > Infiltration > Off Topic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27th Jul 2001, 11:26 PM   #1
Snake13
Sniper
 
Snake13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 5th, 2000
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 1,658
**** Microsoft

I'm tired of their Bull****, my friend bought while he was over my house, we broght it back to mine, well microsoft, ever ****ing penny pinching, made a nice copy prtection system which won't let the game run on my CD rom drive, then we find out that the minimum requirements are outright lies and my friend can't play it on his p3 450, cause it need like an 850 (which i have but the CDROM issue). so once again **** MICROSOFT
__________________


"To be prepared for war is the most effectual means of preserving peace."
-George Washington
Snake13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2001, 11:29 PM   #2
Catalyst
science begets death
 
Catalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 18th, 1999
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,385
Lightbulb

Allllllllrighty then.
Catalyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2001, 11:47 PM   #3
Donnellizer
Fjæsing!
 
Donnellizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 17th, 2001
Location: Ocean Grove, NJ
Posts: 2,247
I've heard **** microsoft 1000 times. It just starts to bore me after awhile. Sure I don't like them, but still...
__________________
Donnellizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2001, 11:51 PM   #4
Snake13
Sniper
 
Snake13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 5th, 2000
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 1,658
i just figured it should be said as many times as possible
__________________


"To be prepared for war is the most effectual means of preserving peace."
-George Washington
Snake13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2001, 12:07 AM   #5
phatcat
akward cat
 
phatcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 29th, 2000
Location: Houston, Tx. If sending hatemail... Paris, France
Posts: 9,348
umm.. you didn't even say what game it was
phatcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2001, 01:45 AM   #6
CAVERNA2K
Look, a fliing something!!!!!
 
CAVERNA2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 12th, 2001
Posts: 1,046
One thing I know for sure: WIN2000 is the most stable System since WIN95 series. IT simply *****never***** locks up. And I know why: the hardware compatibility table for it is HUGE!!! If u have a Celeron 133 or a PIV 2Ghz it will run. AMD: ok. Even Seagate HDs run ok with it. And Seagate sux. In my University we have a huge server, that makes a "LAN" with the universitary hospital, the 4(FOUR) Campus(one in Curitiba - here, one in Londrina(300Km from Curitiba), one is the Hospital and one is a Experimental Farm). Everyting works with WIN2000. Everything runs smooth. In the main Campus, where I study and work, we have simply more than a thousand computers integrated: ranging from Student Accessible computers, Automation Labs, servers, UNIX, MAC... to our OWN internet provider. Everything(but MAC´s and so...) uses WIN2000PRO. If you can get a copy of it, get if. It may not be as fast as WINME - wich I have in my P2 400, but when it is ready, prepare yourself for the most stable Microsoft Windows experience ever. I have WIN2000Pro in my main CPu, the famous AMD 1200, 256ddr... It runs simply shiny. UT: perfect.
CS: perfect. WORD: perfect. When I use eDonkey - to make some downloads - it does not even slows a bit. The memory refresh system is perfect.

The only still w/o solution problem I found was in my ASP converter. It does not work ´cause of a filter. Just that.


BUT: I always got the actualizations and so, WIN2000Pro simply will not crash, lockup, slow down, show you a Blue Screen, never.

I like it. Many of my friends and Teachers still prefer WIN98SE. Their computers are much like mine - high end, gaming propuse, with typing machine integrated. I just liked to try out WIN2000 and I liked it. It took a while, but now it´s fine. If u have the minimum requirements - 1Gb HD...(!!!!) , give it a try. I gave a try to WINMe: it´s the best thing for girl: fast and not complicated. Locks sometimes, but nothing u cant undo with system restore.

Win2kPro is for pro... Awesome. I prefer it over Linux, ´cause Linux is somehow a little hard and lacks many stuff. Windown may have it´s flaws, but is still the best.

PS: I´m almost an Computer Engeneer, so I know what I´m talkin´bout.
__________________
quiquidlatinedictumsitaltumuidetur
cthlhusumtummihitentaculumest


[Removed by BU Admins]
CAVERNA2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2001, 02:29 AM   #7
Ballistophobia
Hedonistic Forum Panacea
 
Ballistophobia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 15th, 2000
Location: Middlesex, NJ USA
Posts: 3,278
I love 98SE the best, 2K has too many problems and s<b></b>hitty benches with games, ME is just ASS!!!!!!!!! XP sounds like an incredible disappointment, just gimme 98SE.
__________________


WHO WILL COME CLEAN ALL THE RAVENOUS DEBRIS?
Ballistophobia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2001, 03:50 AM   #8
Hadmar
Queen Bitch of the Universe
 
Hadmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 29th, 2001
Location: Nerdpole
Posts: 5,383
"One thing I know for sure: WIN2000 is the most stable System since WIN95 series. IT simply *****never***** locks up. And I know why: the hardware compatibility table for it is HUGE!!!"

1. W2k and W9x are based on completely differend technology. W9x is based on a 16/32 Bit mix system that is still based on DOS and W2k is based on NT.

2. That difference is the reason why 2k is more stable than 9x.

3. Hardwarecompatibility for W9x is way better than for W2k. (means more supported hardware couse you won't find W2k drivers for every hardware.)

4. W2k is only stable if the drivers are OK. That's 1 of the main reasons that it crases sometimes.

5. I use W2k at work. I crased only one time. ..... the moment I removed the Network cable! The "connection disturbet" message appeared but that's it.
__________________
Hadmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2001, 10:12 AM   #9
Snake13
Sniper
 
Snake13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 5th, 2000
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 1,658
W2K is stable because it runs all your programs in isolated enviroments, that way if something crashes it doesn't bring down everything else
__________________


"To be prepared for war is the most effectual means of preserving peace."
-George Washington
Snake13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2001, 10:34 AM   #10
Hadmar
Queen Bitch of the Universe
 
Hadmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 29th, 2001
Location: Nerdpole
Posts: 5,383
Yes. And it's called "Preemptive Multitasking"
I didn't want to go into detail in that point. I just wanted to say that it's not the same technology as 9x (BTW 9x is crap from a technology POW) and that is the main reason that it is more stable.
__________________
Hadmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2001, 11:06 AM   #11
ThaSeeker
Capitalist Pig
 
Join Date: Jul. 22nd, 2001
Location: H-town vato!
Posts: 39
As much as I hate Microsoft, if they hadn't made such a piece of crap OS, I'd be out of alot of work! Microsoft's 5hitty coding ensures that i have a profitable business!
__________________
-=kewl signature goes here=-
ThaSeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2001, 11:27 AM   #12
Chow Yun-Fat
W3RD UP
 
Chow Yun-Fat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2001
Posts: 837
If you don't like it, put a penguin in your box.
__________________
See you down in Arizona Bay
Chow Yun-Fat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2001, 11:35 AM   #13
Donnellizer
Fjæsing!
 
Donnellizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 17th, 2001
Location: Ocean Grove, NJ
Posts: 2,247
I agree with Seeker here. But in a different way. If I didn't buy Windows and bought Linux or a Mac, then I couldn't play a lotta games. And I'm a gamer at heart, before everything else.
__________________
Donnellizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2001, 11:40 AM   #14
Donnellizer
Fjæsing!
 
Donnellizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 17th, 2001
Location: Ocean Grove, NJ
Posts: 2,247
Ummm, guys, I crash in Win2k about 3 times a day. And, strangely enough WinME only crashes that same amount. And ME only seems to crash because I'm multi-tasking and the damn ram gets filled up. Actually that's one of the big problems with me and any 9x system, the ram gradually fills up with **** then windows doesn't clean out. You can get programs to empty it, or just friggin restart. Sometimes after I go to the program it says only 16% percent is free! Of course I did have my computer on 2 days
__________________
Donnellizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2001, 02:42 PM   #15
Vampeero
Also known as Piezo
 
Join Date: Jul. 16th, 2000
Posts: 75
I run ME because it came with my computer....and I have 384mB of ram.

Windows is such a bitch I have to restart ever day to clean out my ram!

I start 17% ram in use...after INF 67% in use....after KaZaA and such 86% in use...etc.

Oh, and that is after the programs are closed.
__________________
"If Heaven can be seen in the sky's reflection on calm water, then it is a f***ing shame that it's too polluted to swim in."

"Outlined in chalk, everyone looks the same."

"We've run out of beer...time to shoot some guns!"
Vampeero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2001, 02:47 PM   #16
Ballistophobia
Hedonistic Forum Panacea
 
Ballistophobia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 15th, 2000
Location: Middlesex, NJ USA
Posts: 3,278
Quote:
Originally posted by Vampeero
I run ME because it came with my computer....and I have 384mB of ram.

Windows is such a bitch I have to restart ever day to clean out my ram!

I start 17% ram in use...after INF 67% in use....after KaZaA and such 86% in use...etc.

Oh, and that is after the programs are closed.
DAMN!! This is what I'm talkin about. ME suuuuuuux! I have 128 megs and when I start my computer I'm at 98% free resources. If I run INF and then close it, I'm at 92%. If I run Morpheus and close it, I'm at 88%. It doesn't matter how long I run and close these programs, always the same regardless. 98SE ownz.
__________________


WHO WILL COME CLEAN ALL THE RAVENOUS DEBRIS?
Ballistophobia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2001, 02:51 PM   #17
Donnellizer
Fjæsing!
 
Donnellizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun. 17th, 2001
Location: Ocean Grove, NJ
Posts: 2,247
I need to dig up my 98SE disk.
__________________
Donnellizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2001, 04:50 PM   #18
Chow Yun-Fat
W3RD UP
 
Chow Yun-Fat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 20th, 2001
Posts: 837
I was talking to this guy i know the other day and he was talking about a linux box he's running for an FTP server. He says he keeps it on for a month or so at a time and thats with constant downloading and uploading. I have to restart at least twice to three times a day, and im running ol' 98. UT and a lot of other games are on Linux, i'm thinking of digging up some of my old hardware and creating a penguin box to test some stuff out on.
__________________
See you down in Arizona Bay
Chow Yun-Fat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2001, 04:56 PM   #19
Hadmar
Queen Bitch of the Universe
 
Hadmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 29th, 2001
Location: Nerdpole
Posts: 5,383
I suggest you guys give Windows a maximum diskcache.

In your System.ini is a [vcache] line.
put the following under it.
MaxFileCache=16000

16000 is the ammount of maximum RAM that windows will use for caching files. You can change that number to something that fits your ammount of RAM. I heard that 1/8 of your system RAM is a good value.

This won't solve all RAM related problems but it helps.

And you could use a RAM cleaner/optimiser.
__________________
Hadmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2001, 11:59 PM   #20
CAVERNA2K
Look, a fliing something!!!!!
 
CAVERNA2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 12th, 2001
Posts: 1,046
my WIN2kPro sys:

atlon 1200Mhz, overclock to 1500, 256mb ddr, quantum as plus 20.4 GB, geforce2ultra, ASUS a7aMB. It is ok.
__________________
quiquidlatinedictumsitaltumuidetur
cthlhusumtummihitentaculumest


[Removed by BU Admins]
CAVERNA2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer