News UnrealEd Files Mods FragBU Liandri Archives
BeyondUnreal Forums

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > BeyondUnreal > Games > Unreal Tournament Series > Original Unreal Tournament

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16th Jun 2001, 11:12 PM   #1
FaktoR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun. 16th, 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 8
Question Video Question!

I told u about the souped out comp im getting in 2 weeks, and have another question. It says it comes with 128-bit 3D AGP Graphx Accellerator with 64MB frame buffer embedded in North Bridge(shares memory), up to 1920x1200 16M resolution. Wondering if this is a good video setup to run UT effencially. Oh yea for those of u who didnt see my other post heres the quick specs(to help u to make a decision on my video setup):1.2 Ghz, 256 MB of Ram, and 40 gb HD. Thx for any help!
FaktoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jun 2001, 12:37 AM   #2
AmigaOne|BuF
Masterful
 
AmigaOne|BuF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 14th, 2000
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 380
Video

Hmm.. while I'm not a big fan of integrated systems I suppose the specs you provide won't be too bad. I'm am guessing you are referring to a system with an Intel 810 graphics chipset. I think the most important step you need to make is making sure that you have your proper motherboard drivers installed so everything is running at its potential and not being hampered by reference drivers from Microsoft or someone else.

Aside from that it should provide you with an adequate gaming experience.
__________________
New name...new face...new resolve to be the very best. The very best target for others to splatter the walls with.
AmigaOne|BuF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jun 2001, 01:01 AM   #3
FaktoR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun. 16th, 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 8
Exclamation

Nah its a AMD Athlon, chipset! I invested in a AMD, cause heard its better for gaming, than the Intel's chipsets.
FaktoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jun 2001, 01:20 AM   #4
AmigaOne|BuF
Masterful
 
AmigaOne|BuF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep. 14th, 2000
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 380
Eating foot...

Well sorry about that. Wasn't sure either way. But you don't know for sure what actual graphics chip it is? Is it AGP 2X? 4X? Where is your post about the specific system you are referring to? I did not see it. The best cards I've used and read used for UT are the ATI Radeon and GeForce 2 GTS. I have personally used both and am currently using the GeForce as it has more horsepower overall and I believe will be more widely supported over a broader range of games. I am very picky about my fast paced games such as Half-Life, UT, Oni, etc. I like precise, fluid, responsive movement and when I tried the integrated Intel chipset on a 1GHz P3 system it was OK but not great. I don't know for sure how well yours will be but I would say probably decent. It may well outperform the Intel chip simply because of the higher motherboard FSB. Are you using a DDR Athlon or original? Original will have 200Mhz FSB while the former will be 400.

Unless you simply don't have any cash I'd ignore the built-in chip and buy a separate card. I think you'll have a better gaming experience because of it. You can get very good cards for under $200 these days in fact probably closer to $150.
__________________
New name...new face...new resolve to be the very best. The very best target for others to splatter the walls with.
AmigaOne|BuF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jun 2001, 01:36 AM   #5
FaktoR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun. 16th, 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 8
Red face

AGP 4x and 200Mhz FSB
FaktoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jun 2001, 05:20 PM   #6
Rooster
Local Legend
 
Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 4th, 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 5,287
You really need to know the chipset of the video card.

That should tell us a lot.
__________________
"Let every nation know, whether it wishes us well or ill, that we shall pay any price, bear any burden,
meet any hardship, support any friend, oppose any foe, to assure the survival and success of liberty." John F. Kennedy


My Rig(s)
Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jun 2001, 07:39 PM   #7
DeaJae
taking a month's break
 
Join Date: May. 7th, 2001
Location: England
Posts: 2,884
hmmmmmmm you must have a 22" monitor then if your planin a 1920 res UT i think it'll reach 30 at that, you may want to spend time at 1024 for a while.
__________________
I SellZ computers naow
Still down, not out.. fighting the creek of life with no paddles.
DeaJae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer