Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Registration is free! Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Home

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Mods > Infiltration > Off Topic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16th Jan 2001, 08:26 PM   #1
Keiichi
Old Timer
 
Keiichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 13th, 2000
Posts: 3,331
I think I got shafted...

As some of you may remember, a few months ago I ordered an Intel Coppermine Pentium-III 700MHZ CPU from a place called Accubyte. Some of you may also remember that it took an incredibly long ammount of time for me to receive that processor (over a month from the day I placed the order). Well, I cruised on down to ResellerRatings.com today and found Accubyte listed with a rating of 2.7 (on a scale of 10). Out of curiousity, I checked the customer comments and found that many others had gotten the shaft as well, most of them having been shipped incorrect or mis-marked merchandise.

This made me curious about my own order, so I dug up the shipping receipt. To my surprise, it said "INTEL PIII 700 256K SLOT1". There was no mention of it being a Coppermine. Feeling unnerved, I rebooted my computer and watched carefully as it ran through my hardware. Sure enough, it displayed my processor as an "Intel PIII 700". My brother's CPU is clearly marked as an "Intel PIII 500E" ('E' meaning Coppermine). Now I'm roughly 95% positive that I was shipped the wrong CPU (and overcharged on it to boot, considering that the non-Coppermine PIIIs where about $40 cheaper). Sadly, my 15-day DOA warranty has long since expired, so there's nothing I can do about it at this point...

If any of you are curious, you can read the customer comments here (as well as my own lengthy complaint).

-Keiichi


http://www.geocities.com/morisato_81/

[This message was edited by Keiichi on Jan 16, 2001 at 22:32.]
Keiichi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jan 2001, 08:31 PM   #2
04
New and Improved
 
Join Date: Jul. 6th, 2000
Posts: 873
LMAO...those complaints are really funny

04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Jan 2001, 11:39 PM   #3
jaunty
If you disagree with me, you're wrong.
 
jaunty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 30th, 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,506
LMAO @ keiichi.

That'll learn u not to buy anything off the net.

<img src=http://www.geocities.com/bischlong/jaunty2.jpg>
<span style="width:100%;font-family:arial;text-align:left;color:red;font-size:12pt;height:40pt;filter: glow(strength=8,color=black)">Long live free f<u></u>ucking speach</span>
<span style="font-size:12pt;width:100%;height:40pt;text-align:left;filter:wave(freq=1,strength=2,phase=4,lightstrength=55)"><span style="width:100%;font-family:arial;text-align:left;color:black;font-size:12pt;height:40pt;filter: glow(strength=8,color=lightb
jaunty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2001, 10:44 AM   #4
-=SDS=-A-TeamDan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 25th, 2000
Posts: 178
ooch

Lifes a bitch.....sorry you got shafted keiichi

-=SDS=-A-TeamDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2001, 10:59 AM   #5
Zundfolge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec. 13th, 1999
Location: USA
Posts: 5,703
What's the advantage of a Coppermine PIII over a regular one?

<center></center>
Zundfolge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2001, 11:34 AM   #6
Catalyst
science begets death
 
Catalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul. 18th, 1999
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,385
I have purchased products from Accubyte before as well. Now I am suspicious. I will be wary of shopping from them in the future, although they typically have very good prices.

<FONT SIZE=2 color="#A5AA56">Catalyst</FONT>
Catalyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2001, 01:49 PM   #7
Curtz
Registered User
 
Curtz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 31st, 2000
Posts: 427
Does this thread look... normal to you guys?
No messed up layout or anything?

Curtz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2001, 01:51 PM   #8
Keiichi
Old Timer
 
Keiichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 13th, 2000
Posts: 3,331
Zundfolge: Coppermine's perform better and have fewer problems than the standard and Katmai versions of the PIII processor.

Inccidentally, what the f*ck is up with this thread?

-Keiichi


http://www.geocities.com/morisato_81/
Keiichi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2001, 02:21 PM   #9
Styx_Surfer
Pictor Habilis
 
Styx_Surfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 17th, 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 684
Curtz: It looks very f'cked up indeed... odd..

Handsome Boy Modeling School Graduate


My homepage </font>
Styx_Surfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2001, 02:41 PM   #10
phatcat
akward cat
 
phatcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 29th, 2000
Location: Houston, Tx. If sending hatemail... Paris, France
Posts: 9,355
(this is aaiceman, not phatcat, phatcats friend)
coppermines cpu's all come with 256k full-speed cache, while all other p3 cpu's come with 512k on board half-speed cache. so you have a coppermine.


phatcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2001, 02:57 PM   #11
Galaddin
Forum Drifter
 
Join Date: Mar. 15th, 2000
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,893
Another page ruined by you " 1337 html'ers "

It's a wise person who knows the difference between free speech and cheap talk.
Galaddin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2001, 03:06 PM   #12
04
New and Improved
 
Join Date: Jul. 6th, 2000
Posts: 873
****...give this html **** a break...

04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2001, 04:32 PM   #13
phatcat
akward cat
 
phatcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 29th, 2000
Location: Houston, Tx. If sending hatemail... Paris, France
Posts: 9,355
moderator needs to turn off this Shiznick

who started using the stupid HTML codes anyways?


any-ways, hope that bit of info helps Keiichi-San my friend noticed it when He was looking at the fourms


phatcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2001, 09:39 PM   #14
I_ABuGa
Vetran
 
I_ABuGa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 27th, 2000
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,442
Jaunty?

I think you made a slight boo boo there with trying to centre the style span. I dun think fixing will help tho, but the page will reset on the next thread page.
I_ABuGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2001, 09:43 PM   #15
LordSpoon
plastic fork! my name is plastic fork dammit!
 
Join Date: Nov. 7th, 2000
Posts: 604
WTF??? who did this?

Please people, lay off the goddamn HTML in threads like this.
LordSpoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Jan 2001, 12:51 AM   #16
DEFkon
Shhh
 
DEFkon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 23rd, 1999
Posts: 1,934
My horror story

i had a similar problem when i ordered from http://www.paragoncomp.com

i ordered a cpu a fan, and some ram..
when i got my shipment ( which was late ) it only contained the fan and ram.

Too say i was a little upset would be an understatment. I did eventually get my cpu ( slightly cheaper due to threats of legal action)

Now i bought a new fulltower + powersupply for my rig from a semi local retailer. Once i got everything wired up the way it was supposed to be i fliped the switch, and pused the button.. (Nothing happend) After an hour i discovered that the there was NO trigger OR wire for my main power on button. I had LED's, A reset button, and the PC speaker wire, but NO power switch!!!

course by the time i found the problem Xmas or the weekend or something had roled around and the store was closed for a week. Rather than waiting though i just jury rigged my reset button to work as my on/off switch. (i would've moved the actually mechinal switch up to my power button, but because it's a full tower the cord wouldn't reach from the top of the box to the bottom of the board. ) heheh. so now when my friends come over they can't figure out how to turn her on. now i just call it a security feature.

boom
DEFkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Jan 2001, 07:38 PM   #17
phatcat
akward cat
 
phatcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec. 29th, 2000
Location: Houston, Tx. If sending hatemail... Paris, France
Posts: 9,355
wait wait, my friend says that it may not be a order problem?


phatcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer