Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Registration is free! Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Home

Go Back   BeyondUnreal Forums > Mods > Infiltration > General Infiltration Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14th Nov 2000, 04:52 PM   #1
Lord_Bunker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 18th, 2000
Posts: 1,811
mp5 reload

is it really that important that you eject the bullet from the chamber when you reload an mp5. how likely is it that the gun will jam. seems like it take it almost twice as long to reload with the one bullet chambered. is tho policy on ejecting this cartridge really procticed or is it something that your sopposed to do but there are times when you don't.

Hypothetical situation. you've just about emptied your magazine and think well everything looks clear. i think i'll be safe and reload now. and just as soon as you jam the fresh clip in somebody starts shooting at you. i think most people would just take the risk of the gun jamming rather than taking the time to work the action.

Lord Bunker
Ruler of The Bunkvanian Empire
"only the first shot truly matters, everything else is just a waste of paint."
Lord_Bunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2000, 05:03 PM   #2
TimTim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 23rd, 2000
Posts: 111
I dunno if I agree with you... I think that I'd want to make sure my gun was ready before I fired it... less it become totally useless in the firefight.
TimTim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2000, 05:12 PM   #3
Gryphon
Weapons Tech
 
Gryphon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 2nd, 2000
Posts: 1,441
That's not to keep the weapon from jamming, that's how HK teaches you to reload an MP5 in their submachine gun classes. Bolt back, mag out, mag in, bolt forward. The reason for this is that 9mm MP5's do NOT have a bolt hold open on the last shot, so theoretically you could have fired your last round, reload the mag, and think you still have a round in the chamber. Imagine your surprise when you go to shoot someone and hear CLICK.

The MP5/40 DOES have a bolt hold open, although since HK teaches this technique for all of their weapons to eliminate confusion between systems, we've duplicated it here.

Gryphon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2000, 09:18 PM   #4
ShakKen
Specops Spook
 
ShakKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 11th, 2000
Posts: 3,608
Actually Gryph, it's mag out, bolt back, mag in, bolt forward.

This is due to the design of the MP5 magazines. A magazine of 30 cartriges will often refuse to engage itself in the magazine well if the chamber is not open and empty.

For this reason, some law enforcement agencies prefer to load their mp5s up to only 29 rounds.


ShakKen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Nov 2000, 04:46 PM   #5
Hotshot6700
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Almost all the H&K weapons work that way. Don't know about the G36, we'll get to use that in 2 month or so, but the G3 definitly works that way. If any one of my platoon would not, the Feldwebel (like US seargant, I think) would kick his butt seriously.

Hotshot

The Kraut
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th Nov 2000, 09:56 PM   #6
jaunty
If you disagree with me, you're wrong.
 
jaunty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 30th, 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,506
if the MP5/40 has a bolt holdopen, how come my MP5 bolt doest hold open, or doesn't appear to anyway...

<img src=http://www.geocities.com/bischlong/jaunty2.jpg>
jaunty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Nov 2000, 01:17 AM   #7
Gryphon
Weapons Tech
 
Gryphon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 2nd, 2000
Posts: 1,441
Uh Shak, either way will result in the magazine being inserted on an opened bolt so it doesn't matter. Although bolt back, mag out, mag in, bolt forward, is how HK teaches it in the States at their training academy.

Gryphon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Nov 2000, 02:00 AM   #8
-Mayhem-
-Godlike-
 
Join Date: Aug. 30th, 2000
Posts: 1,166
Yeah shak, you Betta Reconize!

-Mayhem- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Nov 2000, 06:46 AM   #9
ShakKen
Specops Spook
 
ShakKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 11th, 2000
Posts: 3,608
That's empty AND open chamber Gryph. Just like I was tought=)

*Grr! Where's an online resource when you need it!?*

<A HREF="http://www.remtek.com/arms/hk/mil/mp5/choice/coang.htm" TARGET="_blank">http://www.remtek.com/arms/hk/mil/mp5/choice/coang.htm</A>

I hate using remtek.


ShakKen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Nov 2000, 02:13 PM   #10
Troubleshooter
Registered User
 
Troubleshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug. 5th, 2000
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 466
INCOMING!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ooooooooooohhhhhhhhhh shiiiiiiitttt
2 infiltration team-members fighting eachother!!!!!!!! its a goddamn civil war!!!!!



Troubleshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Nov 2000, 01:48 AM   #11
Galaddin
Forum Drifter
 
Join Date: Mar. 15th, 2000
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,893
Nah, not so much a war but a little debate between the 2 Inf gun guru's... But all the same, Gryphon, ShakKen, I think you guys had better check your guns in at the door

The only thing that is better than cheap is free
Galaddin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Nov 2000, 04:56 PM   #12
-=SDS=-A-TeamDan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct. 25th, 2000
Posts: 178
thanks

For the two people on the INF teams i just want to say thanks for clearing that up...Its good to know that you guys actually look at our post

Keep up the good work
A-TeamDan

-=SDS=-A-TeamDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Nov 2000, 06:47 PM   #13
Anon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun. 4th, 2000
Posts: 126
hmmm?
I know sh*t all about guns, but i was under the impression that a round is removed from the magazine to cut down the chances of a stoppage in the magazine itself, on account of the last round being somewhat jammed in?

This being the case, it would also give the operater of the gun a chance to see that the spring action in the mag is actually working properly (which may have been part of the original problem)

Also, depending on the situuation, it may provide that person with a spare round or two, which he would never have had access to had he not removed them.

I dont know?? imagine the sh*t went down and you were being held down by enemy fire, when suddenly........"click..click!!" through no fault of your own you had been forced to use your last round?
And providing you havent used them already ? At least youve got a round or two left in your pocket that you might beable to put to good use while your waiting for the cavalry to arrive.
Anon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Nov 2000, 06:57 PM   #14
Lord_Bunker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 18th, 2000
Posts: 1,811
how many people actually take the time to pick them up though. then you got to stick them in an empty mag.


Stupid remark coming soon!
Lord_Bunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Nov 2000, 07:24 PM   #15
Anon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun. 4th, 2000
Posts: 126
I dunno... like I said, I know jack **** about guns but I reckon instead of putting the rounds down... it would be easier to stick them in your (by then) "special extra one or two extra rounds pocket" straight away.

While your sticking them in your empty mag youll no doubt be saying to yourself "Hmmm... i'd better make these ones count!"

and without getting into a religious debate.....
God might even bless them for you if you ask him?
Anon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Nov 2000, 10:26 PM   #16
ShakKen
Specops Spook
 
ShakKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 11th, 2000
Posts: 3,608
Military SOP is to reload when you're absolutely empty(under cover of teammates). So losing rounds is not really a problem.


ShakKen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2000, 01:11 AM   #17
Anon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun. 4th, 2000
Posts: 126
sorry

I wasnt talking about lost rounds...
I was thinking about the round thats removed from the mag to decrease the chances of a stoppage.

What happens to it?

do you take it with you or do you give it back to the armourer?

The way i understand it is (though im probably wrong having no expieriance with weapons etc.)

before going on a job you would collect your weapon, zero it etc. then before you go anywhere you check your magazines and maybe put a tracer in a couple of rounds before the end to warn you that your gonna run dry (would this be a good addition to the game?) then, leaving a round out for the good of yourself and your team you check the rest of your equipment to make sure everythings just how you like it, before you rock n roll.

no point gettin there only to find your torch doesnt work etc.

so do you get to pocket the extra round (just in case?) or do you give it back?

Hmmm.... wouldnt fancy getting shot in the pocket though... OUCH!

But then......

Anon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2000, 01:59 AM   #18
Lord_Bunker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr. 18th, 2000
Posts: 1,811
getting shot in the pocket wouldn't be as bad as i heard somebody stupid enough to weld with a 12 gram co2 in their pocket. a spark hit it and it kinda blew. their minus a leg now.


Stupid remark coming soon!
Lord_Bunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2000, 07:50 AM   #19
jaunty
If you disagree with me, you're wrong.
 
jaunty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr. 30th, 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,506
you still haven't answered my question, why doesn't the INF mp5/40 have a bolt holdopen ?

and shak, just listen to gryph

hes right, it doesn't matter either way, your inserting the mag into an empty and open chamber.

<img src=http://www.geocities.com/bischlong/jaunty2.jpg>
jaunty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2000, 09:18 AM   #20
ShakKen
Specops Spook
 
ShakKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 11th, 2000
Posts: 3,608
jaunty: our MP5/40 DOES have a bolt holdopen. fire the gun empty and reload.

The reload sequence shows replacing the magazine and hitting the bolt holdopen release button on the lower receiver.

I've always practiced the 30 round rule and it worked well for me. I never saw any reason to do otherwise. If MP5's CAN take 31 rounds, then so much the better. I've personally never tried it


ShakKen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright ©1998 - 2012, BeyondUnreal, Inc.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Bandwidth provided by AtomicGamer